Tuscan Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I sauted 1 green pepper (instead of the celery) and 1 bag fresh white mushrooms. Aslo added some red pepper flakes for a little extra kick. Served over spaghetti. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I added a little more minced garlic and a cup or so of chopped baby bella mushrooms and a teaspoon each of basil and oregano. FAH-REAKING AMAZING. One of the best things I've eaten in a long time. I wonder if I could use a cheap cut of meat (like a combo of sausage and stew meat?) and have it come out tender and awesome, even though I cheaped out. I bet I could. NOTE: I apparently did not read the recipe all the way through and I made this on the stovetop. I browned my meat, then the vegetables, combined them and added the rest of the ingredients excluding the cream. I cooked this, covered and vented, for about an hour and a half, then added the cream. Even though I did not follow the recipe exact (I was far too distracted and busy for that today, to be honest), this still turned out spectacularly. Even my kids slurped it up! I'm SO making this again. And again. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was so yummy and i made it for a friend who apologized in advanced for her 5 year old son who doesn't eat anything. He ended up having seconds and she was so surprised!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My first attempt with the slow cooker and it was so delicious and easy! I did half the sausage and added more veggies like carrots and mushrooms and served it over spaghetti. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This recipe is very good. I made it on the stove since I did not have enough time to cook it all day in a crock pot. It was still very tasty and my kids really like it too. I did add garlic salt. I might add a few red pepper flakes next time. We really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is simply brilliant on a number of levels. I made it exactly as written...questioned why it needed to slow cook since everything WAS cooked before it went into the slow cooker for 5 hours...the taste difference from the start to the finish was incredible...mellowed out considerably. But when you add the cream at the end...oh my. I could really get hooked on this recipe...going to double the batch next time so we have plenty to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made it exact and everyone absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Wonderful flavor but very runny - will thicken it with cornstarch next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
If I had three thumbs, this one would get a three thumbs up. Best pasta sauce I've ever had - EVER!!! Definitely not low-cal, but, hey, live it up. Second time I made it, I added a 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes to give it a bit more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States