Tuscan Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I substituted two pounds of Italian-style ground turkey for the sausage and fat-free half-and-half for the cream. It was so good and full of flavor that we didn't miss the full-fat ingredients at all. It was a hit all around. Can't wait for leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Brilliant! I didn't change a thing and it was so good. Even my 10 month old son loved eating it. Although I added extra veggies for him after the fact. This is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm sure this would be a great recipe, although I used this as base and made alot of alterations to mine..Probably going to post my version online :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Oh man. This recipe is awesome. I did my best to make it EXACTLY as stated, but we don't have red wine, so I used a bit of water for that part. I let this sit in the crock pot all day and it was AMAZING. I only made it last week and I want to have it again. I'm not sure what about it was so special - I'm guessing the sausage as I've never used it in a pasta sauce. Just mouth watering. Edit: Just realized I lied on accident, I used 2% milk rather than heavy cream and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is now our go-to recipe when we want a red pasta sauce. Make it with the celery! I too would normally add a green bell pepper to a pasta sauce, but I think it's the celery that makes this work so well. The cream really puts this one over the top, but it's delicious even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good and it's like a chili w/ a twist :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely awesome. I did leave out the celery. I just didn't think it went with the recipe. Served it with penne pasta and garlic bread and everyone ate happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband and I love this recipe! I do agree that I add oregano and basil to it, but that's just personal choice. I also chop my tomatoes fresh. I do cook it on the stove and not a crock pot, but it still comes out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is the perfect recipe. Easy enough to put together, few pots and pans, not too many ingredients, and just tastes fantastic. Within a few days of making it I can't wait to make it again. To finish it off I add cooked rigatoni and some of the sauce to a saute pan and heat for a few minutes. Some of the sauce is incorporated into the pasta that way, and it thickens the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is simply brilliant on a number of levels. I made it exactly as written...questioned why it needed to slow cook since everything WAS cooked before it went into the slow cooker for 5 hours...the taste difference from the start to the finish was incredible...mellowed out considerably. But when you add the cream at the end...oh my. I could really get hooked on this recipe...going to double the batch next time so we have plenty to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States