Tuscan Chard and Cannellini Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I did not have nutmeg, but i crisped the bacon befor i chopped it. I also added 3 small young shallots to the onoin mix. I Carmelized the whole lot befor adding the broth and beans. only had BetterThan Bullion on hand instead of chicken broth. Same thing really. I should have cut the chard ribbons a bit shorter. I only had dry sage, so i added it early. This is outstanding no matter the variety .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Felle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I substituted pepperoni for the bacon & left out the sage, as well as adding a full 8 cups of broth. This soup recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I wanted to make this vegetarian so I skipped the bacon. I used 3 chipotle peppers that I seeded to add the smoky flavor in lieu of the bacon. I seeded the peppers in an attempt to lower the spiciness but I wish I had used 2 instead of 3. It still came out kind of hot. I also used 2 cans of beans instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Windgassen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Added two beef kielbasa. Was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great fall soup; easy and very flavorful. Wonderful way to feature fall garden goodies -- fresh sage, chard, fresh basil; I used slow roasted romas from the garden instead of the sun-dried tomatoes. Also went with 3 slices of bacon and no olive oil at the end. I used Acini De Pepe pasta, which I had on hand. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Engdahl
Living In: Watertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly. Even in August it was delicious. (I don't eat wheat so I crushed some GF spaghetti.) A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Everyone. Loved it and this was the first time anyone had Chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie meloy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good base recipe - as it says in the notes, this recipe is very tweak-able - i used canned diced tomatoes, and threw in some leftover diced chicken as well, and used Trader Joe's quick cooking faro instead of pasta. Soup is so often the thing you make when you have a few odds and ends in the fridge that need to be used - so with the help of a few things in the pantry, you have a delicious and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Awesome. Even my kids ate it. And they won't eat anything healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wow!! I had my doubts but it was fantastic! Made a couple changes that others had made. Added 2 more cups of broth...and cut up the cheese rind so it melts and doesn't leave a big lump of delicious goo... But WOW!! The broth was delicious!! We will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States