Tuscan Chard and Cannellini Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup was great, however I had some left over sausage and bacon and collard greens and added those to this soup recipe. It turned out fantastic. I would make this soup again and make the same additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Delicious! I made the following changes, though, for personal taste. I substituted red bell pepper for sundried tomatoes, skipped the chard, and used only basil. I also added additional pasta to make it thicker than a soup. And put a dollop of butter on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very flavorful and easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Actually, with some changes it is a 10 and I don't feel bad for making some changes and then rating it because the cook herself in her note suggested most of them. I used bulk sausage browned and crumbled instead of bacon, no nutmeg, canned diced tomatoes and a few squirts of tomato paste, basil and italian herbs. I served with fresh grated parmesan, a squeeze of lemon and some garlic croutons. Took me back to my grandmother's table on Sunday afternoon, she was from Naples, had 10 kids and over 40 grandkids and served a lot of beans and greens out of economic necessity. To me it is a gourmet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Easy, tasty, one-dish meal! I used cheese tortellini for the pasta, and prosciutto instead of bacon (since that was what I had on hand). Perfecto! Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Yum! I followed the base recipe exactly, something I rarely do, and it was delicious! I'm guilty of throwing in some turkey meatballs to make it a complete meal, but the soup was good without them. Thanks for posting the recipe, I'm always looking for chard recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This soup was so delicious! The only sub I made was to use hot italian sausage instead of bacon (about half a package of bulk), and in the future I might add more orzo because we are crazy about it. Was just as good the next day as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinprick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was a hit with my family. My young kids love it and ate the Swiss chard without any complaints. I did double the pasta and bacon for the kids. The sun-dried tomatoes add a great flavor. We have had this twice already and it will be a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Loved this. Very forgiving of substitutions. Will be adding it into my regular rotation of soups. P.S. Definitely add more liquid than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great! I used 1 lb dry Great Northern beans, and breakfast sausage. I had to add about 3 more cups of liquid to compensate for the dry beans. Awesome, and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States