Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you want rave reviews try this one. It's a bit too sweet for my tastebuds but it never fails to please. My co-workers and family members have begged for the recipe. I love to make it because it's so simple and at the same time so pleasing to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Rich but very good. Very easy to prepare. Much better than the usual pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
absolutely sinful and so very delicious. more for wintertime than summer but I'm going to do it a lot when the frost comes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This pie was so, so, SO good. It was unbelievable--and I don't even like pecans! We made two for my father's birthday--I made one and my 13 year old niece made one. They were fabulous, but *very* rich for our family's tastes--and we are rather hearty eaters of sweets. My only complaints are that it *is* time-consuming (to wait for it to cool) and that it does get gooey with only minimal time at room temperature. But I really can't say enough nice things about this recipe--it was so fabulous and exotic flavored, and yet a 13 year old was able to do it with no trouble. Bravo to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I brought it to my family's Thanksgiving and they couldn't get enough of it! It is wonderfully sweet and very addicting! I can see why it sold in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made these into tarts instead for christmas. I topped it off with a dollop each of the chocolate topping and finished with a pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I've made this pie for the past two Thanksgivings and for different family members. Everyone who tried it loved it! My only thought for next time is to allow the pie to stand at room temperature for 20 or 30 minutes before serving. The caramel was hard to cut. I also decreased the amount of caramel in the recipe. Otherwise, this is already a family favorite. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momiam
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Exactly the flavor I was looking for. I added whipped cream and it was the perfect touch not only for taste but also for presentation. I really like the idea of a "turtle cream" pie, and next time I will probably half ALL of the ingredients (except for pecans/shell) and put at least 8 oz. of whip cream (enough to fill out the pie crust) on top. I also decorated with pecans dipped in caramel, chopped chocolate chips with shavings, etc, and drizzled caramel. I would not use a graham cracker crust or cookie crust as someone recommended as it is already really rich (sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I make this pie for every holiday. I usually make two from this recipe becuase it is very rich. But I could eat a whole pie by myself. This is my favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
wonderful my family ordered one for christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States