Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ALLICAT2U
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
A great cheesecake... with some modifications to suit the taste of my friends. First, I made this crust out of oreos - I think it fits better. I think the chocolate cheesecake would be overwhelming, so I mixed the chocolate with a little bit of the cheescake batter and swirled it throughout the plain batter. I did the same thing with some of the caramel, so when we cut into the cheesecake, you could see the chocolate and caramel ribbons without overpowering the cheesecake. I did put in the layer of caramel and pecans, and it was excellent! I always bake my cheesecakes in a springform pan fit inside one of those silicone cake pans, then place the cheesecake in a roasting pan and put water halfway up the side of the cheesecake pan. This has always worked well for me - I get the benefits of a waterbath without the leaking that foil can do. Before I boxed it up to take to work, I used some Smuckers hot fudge topping to cover the top of the cake in a very thin layer, then placed pecan halves around. Finally, I drizzled what was left of the caramel sauce on top of this cake. It looked beatuiful! I am known for my cheesecakes, and my coworkers were quite impressed. Try this one - you won't be disappointed@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This cheesecake was awesome with one simple change. Instead of melting the chocolate chips and adding to the batter, I added 1 cup of mini semi-sweet morsels to the batter. This made it a little less chocolatey and even prettier. After baking the cheesecake I also drizzled some caramel ice cream topping over the top and then sprinkled a few more mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans. Looked professionally made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Thank you for this recipe! Nobody ever believes that I made this myself, they assume I bought it. I've actually never used the vanilla wafers, I like to use the Oreo cookie crumbs that come in a box. And I found that melting the caramels and milk in a glass bowl in the microwave is easier and takes less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Great recipe!!! I changed the vanilla wafers to Oreo crumbs, and I used Hershey's Milk Chocolate Chips instead of the semisweet. It turned out to be amazingly authentic to the original "Turtle". I also susbtituted T.Marzetti's Caramel Dip instead of unwrapping all those caramels and melting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZRAEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is great! Here are some good hints to make it better: Use oreo cookie crumbs instead of vanilla wafers. Build up the sides of the crust and only pour the caramel close to the edge, but not all the way to the edge. When I poured it to the edge it made a large build up of caramel that was very hard. Also, allow the caramel to cool before pouring the cheese mixture on top of it. When making the cheese mixture, allow the cream cheese to come to room temp before mixing. That will make it a richer and smoother filling. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Incredible! I made this for Thanksgiving, and my stepfather wouldn't let it leave the house. They were practically fighting over it. I have made it several times since then, and if you cook it longer at a lower temperature it becomes even creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made two cakes because I had a daughter and a friend with birthdays. My friend requested a Turtle Cheesecake. I followed reviews and used oreo cookies for the crust, added mini choc chips to the batter, and softened the cream cheese to room temp before mixing. I baked in a water bath so the caramel wouldn't get hard; turned off oven at end of baking time and let cool in oven about 3 hours before chilling. Cheesecakes came out perfect! To garnish I melted milk choc chips in microwave, dipped my fingertips in and flung the chocolate across cakes in opposite directions, then I placed pecans around the edge. I posted a photo because it looked so pretty. My friend and family raved about how good it was! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Spray the bottom of the pan with cooking spray, put parchment paper on top of that, then spray the paper. Otherwise it sticks horribly to the bottom. Also, just nuke the caramels with evaporated milk. Same for chocolate chips. Much easier, faster & less messy. Finally, definitely use a pre-made oreo cookie crust!! (Forget the graham cracker crust.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
The idea of the caramel and pecans was great, but I used a graham cracker crust and Chantal's New York Cheesecake for the actual cheesecake part then topped with pecans and chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
What a fantastic recipe! I'd give this recipe more stars if I could! I took this to a holiday party and it was the biggest hit. Everyone was raving about it and people were asking me for the recipe. I thought it was a pretty easy recipe too. Like another person suggested, I topped it with chopped pecans and drizzeled carmel. It dressed it up and made it look more yummy. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States