Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! I also used an oreo cookie crust which made it much richer with chocolate. I highly recommend this recipe! You'll get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Possum Kingdom Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
AMAZING!! Wish I knew the lattice topping in the pic was not part of the recipe though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a crowd pleaser. As suggested by another reviewer, I didn't melt the chocolate chips and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I read many reviews before making this cheesecake and made the following changes: added extra butter to springformpan, used oreo's instead of nilla wafers, and placed caramel in the center of crust. The cheesecake flovor was ok, caramel still steeped out sides and I could not get outter ring off. I would recommend not putting caramel on top of crust instead just of top of cheesecake. I would also use a New York style cheesecake for the base. Would make againg but only with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Awesome recipe! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it was a little too sweet. I think I may use unsweetened chocolate next to cut down on the sugar. Otherwise, it was superb and got rave reviews. The only modifications I made was microwaved the caramel and milk as someone suggested, as opposed to heating them on the burner. I did use grahm cracker crumbs because that is all I had, but next time I will def try the oreo crumb crust. I think it will taste a lot better. Last, I reserved some of the caramel mix and pecans so I can add them to the top of the cheesecake. I also melted more chocolate chips with 2 tbsp of butter to drizzle it on top. It looked as good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made two cakes because I had a daughter and a friend with birthdays. My friend requested a Turtle Cheesecake. I followed reviews and used oreo cookies for the crust, added mini choc chips to the batter, and softened the cream cheese to room temp before mixing. I baked in a water bath so the caramel wouldn't get hard; turned off oven at end of baking time and let cool in oven about 3 hours before chilling. Cheesecakes came out perfect! To garnish I melted milk choc chips in microwave, dipped my fingertips in and flung the chocolate across cakes in opposite directions, then I placed pecans around the edge. I posted a photo because it looked so pretty. My friend and family raved about how good it was! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love this recipe just the way it is, but I love chocolate and caramel. This is rich and so tasty. I made it for my husband's birthday that we celebrated with all our friends. Everyone raved about how delicious it was...I agree, it's a tasty treat. I make it several times a year and enjoy it more each time. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was very RICH and decident! I actually didn't have enough of the carmels but I did have extra ice cream carmel sauce, so I added it to the milk. But I don't think it was necessary. And I also forgot to the pecans down before I spread the cream cheese in the middle...since the edges were exposed I was able to get a few around the edges. My favorite was decorating the top. Since of course mine cracked (Im always afraid it's not cooked long enough, nothing worse then under cooked desserts). So what I did was I drizzeled some remaining carmel sauce on top. Then I sprinkled a few chunks of chocolate chips and the pecans. Then I melted some Lindt Chocolate and drizzled that back and forth. It looked professionally done. The cake was very heavy. And everyone wanted a large piece, however everyone felt sick after, but man it was worth it. I didn't really try any thing different thought the recipe was pretty good on it's own. Thanks for sharing :) UPDATE::::: so I made this again, trust me to always do something wrong. I bought enough carmels this time, and had some left over which was good. Because without measuring the can of milk I just plopped it right in. where I am there is not the smaller cans they're the size up. Anyway so I added the extra carmels on hand to make the sauce thicker. And I actually put the carmel mixture in properly. This is such an AWESOME dessert! Yes it is sweet, yes it is rich, but that is what cheesecake is all about! its a fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My daughter and I made this for our family for Christmas Eve dinner. We never made a cheesecake before. We appreciated everyone's comments. The cheesecake turned out simply delicious and looked beautiful. Our family LOVED it and talked about it for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is sure to please any crowd. I made it once and had many request to make it again. I followed someone's suggestion and used the Oreo crust instead of vanilla wafers, and used the mini chips in the actual cheese part, it turned out perfect. Next time I make it, I think I will buy the dipping caramel instead of unwrapping all 50 candies (what a pain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States