Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe that is not hard to make. I have never made a cheesecake and everyone liked this one. I used an oreo cookie crust and melted the caramels in the microwave. I also put a half cup of milk chocolate chips on top of the caramel layer instead of mixing them in. Once the cheesecake came out to the oven I drizzled caramel on top that I had saved and then sprinkled another half cup of chocolate chips on top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Delicious! I made it exactly how the recipe said, except I added a topping like the pictures: caramel drizzle, chocolate drizzle and chopped pecans. The only thing that would make it better is if it were taller. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingDiva
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
WOW! If I could give this recipe even more stars, I would definitely do it! This was SO worth my time in baking this delicious cheesecake. My BF absoultely loved it! He wanted to share the 1st slice, but I knew that we needed our own plates. Here's what I did: I bought a springform pan from wal-mart cost was about $10, greased the entire pan with butter, used 14 oreo cookies with a few tablespoons of butter & baked it for about 7 min. I melted the caramel pieces with the evaporated milk in the mircrowave & did the same thing for the chocolate, (thanks to the other reviewers). I reserved some of the caramel sauce to decorate the cheesecake at the end. I also made chocolate sauce for the toppings by using 1/2 chocolate chips and a little bit of cream. I finished the cheesecake with more pecans. I'm craving this right now! Can't wait to get home from work so that I can have more. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Check out these videos for tips on baking your cheesecake: http://www.ehow.com/video_2332630_making-caramel-cheesecake.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
awesome recipe, I did not melt the choc chips and add them, I added mini chips to the batter and used a graham cracker crust. Very rich and I get requests for this all the time. Thanx for the recipe.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jujucamoo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Oh boy, this was good! I would advise using caramel sauce for the caramel layer instead of waiting for a batch of caramels to melt. It is essentially the same thing and it takes less time. If you also don't have a double broiler on hand just as I did, you can just stick the chocolate chips in a saucepan with a tiny bit of water and melt them that way for a quicker result. My whole family and my boyfriend really enjoyed this and it tasted the best about a day and a half after baking, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at making a baked cheesecake. I give it 4 stars because the texture and presentation were good, but it did not taste, or remind me of the taste of turtles chocolates. Like many suggested I used Oreo Cookie crumbs for the crust and caramel ice cream topping to make it a little easier. I did not use the water bath method but I think I will if I ever make this particular cheesecake again. The caramel was pushed to the outside edges of the cake, there was none left in the center of the cake, and turned into a hard and chewy layer all around the outside of the cake that was barely edible. Everything else was delicious, and I had lots of fun decorating the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janol8

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was the first cheesecake I have ever made and it turned out perfect!! I made the crust with oreos and left out that chocolate because I prefer original cheesecakes. I also had to up the amount of oreos because it didn't make enough crust but not a big deal. Defenitly will make this again!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendragray

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was a great cheesecake! Great flavor. I ended up just microwaving the caramels since they were taking forever in the double boiler. My friends said it was a keeper recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAHLIA0801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Easy to make and wonderfully good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great flavor. Awesome texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States