Turtle Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
do not bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes! the caramel will be as hard as rocks. cook at 200 degrees for maybe 3 minutes. the caramel will retain its shape but it will be soft enough to be shaped with your fingers. you can shape them like a turtles shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
its delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I chopped the pecans and also added cranberries with them. I put some melted vanilla bark on top also, just for color. Gone before I could get this posted! Will have to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
A little messy, but very good. To make caramel and chocolate chips easier to work with, heat them in a bowl with a bit of milk. Just keep adding milk and heat until they get to a workable consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used the suggestions by Jered and they came out nicely. Carmel still a little firm but okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I'm giving it 5 stars to boost the rating. The only thing I change is the length of time the caramels are in the oven and how many pecans. Last year I had plenty of pecans and laid them out in pairs, side by side. Making a Y is a hassle. Next, put a whole caramel on top and bake for ONLY 2 minutes or so. 10 minutes will harden them up and break your teeth! 2 minutes makes them soft and you press the caramel into the pecans. Then smother with chocolate and voila! They are big enough around and pretty thick. Give these a try, they are definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I should have read the reviews before attempting these at all. I was pretty annoyed last night for wasting so mucb money on the pecans and caramels just to throw it all out. First, tip - for best results - make your OWN caramel to use. If you use hard, storebought caramel - your turtles will be hard. Turtles are supposed to have soft yummy caramel but using the store bought squares just doesn't work. Maybe if you found some good quality soft caramels it would - I don't know - I tried kraft and trust me it doesn't work. At 10 minutes of baking - mine were still retaining their shape so I stupidly let them go 2 more minutes. Of course by trhen they looked perfect but when firmed up they were rock hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These were so good! The only problem I had was I ate too many to test them! ;) I used the microwave for the caramel and added a little milk. This made the caramel soft and yummy. Thanks for the recipe even though it has blown my diet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I read the other reviews first and followed some of the helpful tips. I did find that this was very simple to make even though some reviews said it was a bit difficult, but maybe I'm not as much of a perfectionist when it comes to presentation. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nale2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I read all the reviews and modifications before attempting this recipe. I baked the caramels for 3 minutes, then patted them down so the caramels spread over the pecans and baked for another minute to ensure the caramels softened. Instead of using chocolate chips, I used almond bark. The almond bark was easier to melt and spread. It cut the cooling time down so my family could enjoy the turtles sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States