Turtle Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very Yummy, will make over and over!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Because I love turtles, I have tried to make them every year. They have never turned out until this year. I decided to analyze what I did not like about them. First, using five pecans made them just way too big, so I used just one pecan. Then I cut the caramels in half and put them on the pecans. Second, they were always too hard. So I baked them for just 2 to 2 and a half minutes at 300 degrees ... just until they were malable. Then I smoothed the caramels over the pecans with my fingers and let them cool. Third the chocolate was always too tacky, it just never firmed up. So I added one eighth of a bar of parafin to the chocolate and dropped a dollop on the caramel/pecans. They turned out perfect! I've made two batches this year so far ... one with dark chocolte chips and one with semi-sweet chocolate chips. They were both yummy! Hope this helps others who have had problems with turtles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
The recipe tasted okay, but it was rock hard. I tried one of the reviewer's variation of the recipe and this worked much better. My family loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Here's a variation on the recipe: 1-14 oz pkg caramels 2 1/2 T. Evaporated Milk 2 cups Chopped Pecans 1-24 oz pkg chocolate Bark Combine caramels & evaporated milk in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for 2 to 2 1/2 min, stirring frequently. Add the pecans and mix well. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto a greased baking sheet. Freeze for 2 hours. Melt the chocolate bark in a microwave safe bowl in the microwave for 2 to 2 1/2 min, stirring frequently. Dip the caramel drops in the melted chocolate bark and place on waxed paper to cool. Yields 3-4 dozen. They taste just like Pixies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
These were pretty good. I agree with another user, who stated that the caramels and pecans should be cooked at 250 instead of 350. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I can't figure out what I did wrong. I melted the chocolate but I was unable to get it at a pouring or spreading consistency. Because the chocolate was dough-like, I had to make pecan/carmel filled balls out of them. Despite this problem, the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Quick and easy! I used melted milk chocolate pieces (used to make candies) instead of semi-sweet chips for my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I thought this was a easy one to prepare, melted well together. Using these for Christmas. Thanks for the recipe Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCHELE99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fosston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mentor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
These were very good, but were a little time consuming to make...they were worth it! Everyone at work loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Yikes! What happened to mine? So easy to do, but the caramel in mine became so hard we could barely eat them! I'm going to try again, but with home made caramel instead of the store bought. Easy and potentially good, but I need another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States