Turtle Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I followed this recipe and ended up with extremely hard carmel. I think next time I will melt the carmel's myself and add a little milk to make them softer! Instead of chocolate chips I decided to try using Hersey's candy bars!(I get weak at the knees for Hersey's chocolate!) They turned out great with the Hersey's bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I followed the directions in Lady Godiva's review. However, I wanted to add three things: (1) Milk chocolate works just as well as semi-sweet. (2) I tend to coat the turtles in the chocolate. The first time I made them, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, as the original recipe calls for. However, if you coat the entire turtle in chocolate, you will need more chocolate than what the recipe calls for.I probably used between 2-3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. (3) Also, after coated them in chocolate, I froze them again for about an hour. Then, I brought them out and layered them in a container, with wax paper in between each layer. I kept them in the fridge until they were gone (which, of course, was not very long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe was easy and quick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Passable, but prefer the following changes: 1. "turtles" have four legs, so I use four pecan halves. Prefer this size of finished product. 2. I start with melting 1 bag chocolate chips and add 1/4 bar paraffin, for a better handling finished product. 3. On waxed paper, spoon half dollar size circles of melted chocolate; position four pecan halves in the chocolate, then place in freezer for a half hour. 4. Melt caramels, adding one tablespoon of milk or half and half per bag of caramels. Cool caramel mixture until it begins to stiffen again, but still stirrable. 5. Using two teaspoons, spoon a quarter size dot of caramel on the cold chocolate/pecan bases. Return to freezer for a half hour. 6. Spoon chocolate over the caramel dot, making sure the top layer of chocolate completely covers the edges of the caramel and coats the edge of the base chocolate... this way the caramel will not leak out at room temperature. 7. When top chocolate sets up, gently remove from baking sheet and allow to come up to room temperature before serving. They store well in a sealed container at room temperature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jered

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I guess I should have read all the reviews before trying this recipe, because the recipe failed for me. Now that I have read the reviews I see why. Maybe I will try again, but all the expense of ingredients went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was ok ~ but the messiest thing to make with only such few ingredients!!! I would definitely use wax paper while making because I had a HARD time getting the dried caramel off my stoneware. Don't wear your good clothes, either. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used homemade caramel & I used ghiradelli double chocolate dipping chocolate. These were decadent! Hubby's grandmother made turtles every Christmas...I can't wait to surprise my father-in-law w/ these, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
My Junior Girl Scout troop made this recipe. We forgot to add the shortening to the chocolate and we melted it in the microwave, but otherwise everything turned out great by simply following the directions. Some of the carmels melted too much, but most were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
After reading all the other reviews, I came up with a few modiifcations. I left the temperature at 300, but only put them in for 3- 3 1/2 minutes. Then when they came out, I put a little shortening on my finger tips and squished the caramel down with a bit of shortening on my fingers to keep the caramels from sticking. But be careful, because some of them may be pretty hot. And I just drizzled the chocolate over the top and they turned out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Allen
Home Town: Badin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
My turtles also turned out rock hard - so hard they were inedible! I agree with the other reviewers that the baking time for the caramel is probably too long. I am going to try to make my own caramal next time. Otherwise, this recipe gave me a good base for making turtles, one of my favorite candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States