Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This cake is awesome! This was the first time I made this cake, so I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk. The filling was the perfect consistency. I made the cake on Friday afternoon, frosted it Friday night and refrigerated it overnight. I took it out of the fridge around 5pm and served it at about 8pm and it was wonderful. Also, I melted the caramels, evaporated milk and butter in a glass bowl in the microwave at 100% power for about 4 minutes, stirring after every minute or so. Thanks for a great recipe. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! I took this cake to work for a co-workers birthday, it was a HIT! I used the recommendation of the 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk in the caramel sauce and it turned out wonderfully. To quote a co-worker, "This is definitely a recipe to share" and share it I will! Added 4/15/05: I shortcutted this recipe this time to decent results. German chocolate cake mix and made per directions. Instead of making the caramel sauce, I used caramel ice cream topping. Then I used "Pour and Frost" icing for the cake instead of making the described icing. Decoreated and made a ring around the edges with leftover choco chips and pecans. VERY RICH but very good and gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
This is a great recipe. I have now made it twice. The second time I used less butter in the filling and a little more milk (1/4 c. butter, 2/3 c. evaporated milk). The caramel filling seemed a little thicker which is better. The cake was even better the second day. The hard part is keeping my family from eating it all the first day - it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This cake is awesome. I didn't change any ingredients, but if you melt caramel mixture before backing first layer, it will cool and thicken slightly while first layer bakes, stopping it from pooling to the edges. Also, I found that if you sprinkle the pecans and chocolate chips first and then pour caramel mixture on top, this too will help with caramel pooling at edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday and am getting ready to make it again! He LOVED it! It is delicious! I did read the reviews and used a little more evap. milk and a little less butter. This is an awesome recipe and I will make it again and again! (Note: this recipe calls for 14 OUNCES of caramels NOT 14 caramels!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Wonderful recipe. Has become a big hit at my house and office. The first time I made it some of the caramel filling dripped in the oven and caused it to smoke. Now when I put the cake in to bake the second time around I set it on a large swiss roll pan, increase the temperature to 360 and bake for 25 minutes instead of 20. Turns out perfect and no messy oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Wonderful cake and is even better the second day which is great if your having a party and want to try and get some stuff done ahead of time. I did use 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk, worked perfect. Also used one of those "whipped" frostings in the can (chocolate)and that worked well too. As I said before don't worry about making it a day ahead, it's great..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good in theory but the carmel mixture runs all over and trying to add half the cake batter on top just makes a mess. It doesn't cover the cake and mixes with the carmel. Pre baking half the cake for 15 minutes then the carmel and other half the batter baking for another 20 just makes for a burned cake on the bottom and a gooey, half baked cake on the top. It got one star because I couldn't give it a negative one. I am an experienced baker and sell cookies as a side business, so it's not that I don't know what I'm doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
THIS.IS.INCREDIBLE! I followed the suggestions from other reviewers, topped with caramel sauce, chocolate sauce and leftover pecans, and the cake turned out absolutely perfect. I have absolutely no complaints. It was SUPER rich, so eat it with a glass of milk :) Everyone who tasted it asked for the recipe, and I'll definitely be using this recipe for years to come! USE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this for a coworker's birthday, and it was a hit. Several people asked for the recipe and I was happy to direct them here! I wonder if this could be made with an 8-inch round cakepan? Presentation was the only area where the cake seemed to be lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States