Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Wonderful cake and is even better the second day which is great if your having a party and want to try and get some stuff done ahead of time. I did use 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk, worked perfect. Also used one of those "whipped" frostings in the can (chocolate)and that worked well too. As I said before don't worry about making it a day ahead, it's great..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This cake was really good! The only problem I had was that the cake baked with a curve so the caramel sauce pooled in the corners and the edges and was sparce in the middle. Other than that, very good! Also the icing was a hit. My husband insists that I use it on my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I forgot to add the pecans and chocolate chips on top of the caramel mixture so I mixed pecans into the frosting instead. It turned out to be very tasty. I brought it to a birthday party and it was well received by everyone. I found it very rich - so no need to make serving sizes large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
My daughter and I were looking up cake recipes and she opted we go with chocolate vs. spice...so we looked and found this recipe and thought it sounded good...it was great! I didn't have German Chocolate Cake Mix on hand, but had the Butter Rich Chocolate Mix instead and it turned out pretty good...rich, but good none the less. My husband said that the German Chocolate Cake Mix would have probably made it less sweet. Either way it was yummy :o). I didn't feel like making the icing and thought the cake was good with out the icing. I will definately make it again (with German Chocolate Cake Mix next time!). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This cake is awesome! This was the first time I made this cake, so I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk. The filling was the perfect consistency. I made the cake on Friday afternoon, frosted it Friday night and refrigerated it overnight. I took it out of the fridge around 5pm and served it at about 8pm and it was wonderful. Also, I melted the caramels, evaporated milk and butter in a glass bowl in the microwave at 100% power for about 4 minutes, stirring after every minute or so. Thanks for a great recipe. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Wonderful recipe. Has become a big hit at my house and office. The first time I made it some of the caramel filling dripped in the oven and caused it to smoke. Now when I put the cake in to bake the second time around I set it on a large swiss roll pan, increase the temperature to 360 and bake for 25 minutes instead of 20. Turns out perfect and no messy oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! I took this cake to work for a co-workers birthday, it was a HIT! I used the recommendation of the 1/4 cup butter and 2/3 cup evaporated milk in the caramel sauce and it turned out wonderfully. To quote a co-worker, "This is definitely a recipe to share" and share it I will! Added 4/15/05: I shortcutted this recipe this time to decent results. German chocolate cake mix and made per directions. Instead of making the caramel sauce, I used caramel ice cream topping. Then I used "Pour and Frost" icing for the cake instead of making the described icing. Decoreated and made a ring around the edges with leftover choco chips and pecans. VERY RICH but very good and gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
This is a great recipe. I have now made it twice. The second time I used less butter in the filling and a little more milk (1/4 c. butter, 2/3 c. evaporated milk). The caramel filling seemed a little thicker which is better. The cake was even better the second day. The hard part is keeping my family from eating it all the first day - it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
Indescribably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States