Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Question: the pic from Earnesta shows a lovely dome. The recipe says to bake in a 9X13. How do you get the dome effect? Also confused about baking batter on top of a baked cake, how does that work? Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
If you like "RICH" this is the cake for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good but not excellent or amazing. I had no problems getting rid of this at my party -- it was moist, had a decent texture, and I love chocolate. But I wanted more caramel flavor. I went with the suggested modification and regret doing so because I think the texture was off. But either way, I don't think 14 caramels was enough for this cake. I also wasn't thrilled with the icing. It was good, but not great. I am going to keep looking for that out of this world cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this for my husband's b'day and it turned out wonderful! I made the changes to the butter and evaporated milk that others had suggested and it was perfect. Rich and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Alabama, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Awesome cake! You need two glasses of milk to go with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
FANTASTIC! I made this cake for the very first time (with the suggested modifications) and it was a huge hit with the birthday party crowd. It is definitely a favorite that will be repeated many times in the future. One additional modification I made was to use Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix instead of German Chocolate for a more chocolately turtle cake. It turned out well. I'm so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyjordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lestoby
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A chocolate lovers dream! This cake was a little too rich for me and I would probably eliminate the chocolate chips next time. I did not have enough carmel (only 6 oz) and will add more next time. I made my cake a double tiered cake which required me to double the frosting ingredients (which is a very good frosting recipe)and I would suggest you use a mixer to whip up the frosting. Don't forget to add the ingredients (eggs, oil, butter) from the cake box to your grocery list - luckily I had enough eggs to make the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
O-M-G this is so good and rich and delicious! This is a perfect take to work cake and/or summertime dessert. This was a major hit and all of the men especially went ga-ga over this! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
So good and easy to put together. The icing keeps it nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
a bit too much frosting, but I couldve stopped instead of using it all :). Other then that it was rich and very tasty. Everyone at the party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States