Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Question: the pic from Earnesta shows a lovely dome. The recipe says to bake in a 9X13. How do you get the dome effect? Also confused about baking batter on top of a baked cake, how does that work? Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
If you like "RICH" this is the cake for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good but not excellent or amazing. I had no problems getting rid of this at my party -- it was moist, had a decent texture, and I love chocolate. But I wanted more caramel flavor. I went with the suggested modification and regret doing so because I think the texture was off. But either way, I don't think 14 caramels was enough for this cake. I also wasn't thrilled with the icing. It was good, but not great. I am going to keep looking for that out of this world cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this for my husband's b'day and it turned out wonderful! I made the changes to the butter and evaporated milk that others had suggested and it was perfect. Rich and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Alabama, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Awesome cake! You need two glasses of milk to go with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
FANTASTIC! I made this cake for the very first time (with the suggested modifications) and it was a huge hit with the birthday party crowd. It is definitely a favorite that will be repeated many times in the future. One additional modification I made was to use Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix instead of German Chocolate for a more chocolately turtle cake. It turned out well. I'm so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyjordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lestoby
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
A chocolate lovers dream! This cake was a little too rich for me and I would probably eliminate the chocolate chips next time. I did not have enough carmel (only 6 oz) and will add more next time. I made my cake a double tiered cake which required me to double the frosting ingredients (which is a very good frosting recipe)and I would suggest you use a mixer to whip up the frosting. Don't forget to add the ingredients (eggs, oil, butter) from the cake box to your grocery list - luckily I had enough eggs to make the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
O-M-G this is so good and rich and delicious! This is a perfect take to work cake and/or summertime dessert. This was a major hit and all of the men especially went ga-ga over this! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
So good and easy to put together. The icing keeps it nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
a bit too much frosting, but I couldve stopped instead of using it all :). Other then that it was rich and very tasty. Everyone at the party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States