Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This cake is sooooo good! You could leave off the frosting and it would still be wonderful!!The longer it sits the better. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This cake is awesome. I didn't change any ingredients, but if you melt caramel mixture before backing first layer, it will cool and thicken slightly while first layer bakes, stopping it from pooling to the edges. Also, I found that if you sprinkle the pecans and chocolate chips first and then pour caramel mixture on top, this too will help with caramel pooling at edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is very good and very rich. I used the caramel bits, (found in baking isle), so that eliminated the unwrapping. However they are only 11 oz. not 14 oz. So I used 2-1/2 TBSP butter, 2 tsp. vanilla, and 1/2 cup of evaporated milk to melt the caramels in the microwave. I nuked for 3-1/2 min. at 70% power. That way the caramel thickens. Do try the evaporated milk as it intensifies the caramel flavor. I thought the chocolate frosting too sweet so I upped the chocolate to 1/2 cup of bitter-sweet chocolate chips. I thought it was very decadent, and I would be proud to serve this to family and friends. Thank you for sharing your lovely recipe, K. Casler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Made this cake over the weekend, when i poured the caramel mixture over the cake it went all around the edges. When I tasted the cake there was no caramel to be found anywhere on this cake. It tasted like a plain chocolate cake with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDbikerchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Much to sweet (and I like sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anarcv
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I love this recipe, it's so easy to make. If you're after something wickedly good and very bad for you then this is for you. I'm in Australia and we don't have german choc cake packet mix, so I opted for Betty Crocker's Devil's Food Cake. It turned out fantastically. And for Aussie's out there I used Pascall's Columbine caramels with less butter and less evaporated milk. As for corn syrup, I used "Glucose Syrup", apparently derived from corn so just check out your local supermarket in the "Cake aisle", its a clear, very thick and comes in a jar. I would recommend using a good quality dark chocolate for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anarcv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday and am getting ready to make it again! He LOVED it! It is delicious! I did read the reviews and used a little more evap. milk and a little less butter. This is an awesome recipe and I will make it again and again! (Note: this recipe calls for 14 OUNCES of caramels NOT 14 caramels!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This may be the best cake I've ever eaten! It was so rich and moist, and the flavors remind me of wonderful turtle candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family loved this recipe. The only thing that I did was do 1.5 times the caramel and 3/4 cup evaporated milk. I also did 1.5 cups of pecans. Everyone loved it. Even my mother in law said "Small Children should not watch my reaction to this cake." It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Excellent, sinfully delicious! I followed the suggestions from other reviews to use less butter and evaporated milk. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States