Turtle Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Very yummy! Would advise to start the carmel mixture first so you have plenty of time to get it melted and combined well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
followed recipe exactly - was awesome. cake a little crumbly, but yummy gooey good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSarber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good in theory but the carmel mixture runs all over and trying to add half the cake batter on top just makes a mess. It doesn't cover the cake and mixes with the carmel. Pre baking half the cake for 15 minutes then the carmel and other half the batter baking for another 20 just makes for a burned cake on the bottom and a gooey, half baked cake on the top. It got one star because I couldn't give it a negative one. I am an experienced baker and sell cookies as a side business, so it's not that I don't know what I'm doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent cake! I took a reviewer's advice and used one jar of Mrs. Richardson's Caramel ice cream topping instead of making the sauce, and it was fab. I definitely recommend this recipe! It's great served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
THIS.IS.INCREDIBLE! I followed the suggestions from other reviewers, topped with caramel sauce, chocolate sauce and leftover pecans, and the cake turned out absolutely perfect. I have absolutely no complaints. It was SUPER rich, so eat it with a glass of milk :) Everyone who tasted it asked for the recipe, and I'll definitely be using this recipe for years to come! USE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This cake was very good. Pretty easy to put together. I made it a couple weeks ago and have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I don't have a German chocolate cake mix available in our place so what I did is I made my own chocolate cake from scratch. I substituted the caramels with a home made one since I didn't want to go the market (1 can condensed milk submerge it onto the water and boil for 3 hours, make sure it's submerged so refill the water every now and then). It came out great also! I scratched some of the items in the ingredient list (caramels, butter and evaporated milk) I used walnuts instead (that's the only available nut in the pantry haha) This is really really good it come out perfectly moist and rich at the center :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this for a coworker's birthday, and it was a hit. Several people asked for the recipe and I was happy to direct them here! I wonder if this could be made with an 8-inch round cakepan? Presentation was the only area where the cake seemed to be lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
OUCH! I was in a hurry and didn't take the time to read the other reviews (shame on me). What a lesson to be learned. I made it just the way it was written and the caramel floated to the edges. It was still soooooo tastey and I will definitely make this again with the revised version...less butter and more evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States