Turtle Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tried it for my husbands birthday and the turtle frosting was not a success. Using a cake mix also gives it that box taste so I made fresh cake batter and tried that. It probably was just the baker in this case but if I make it again I won't do layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Been making this for years! Love it! I also changed the butter to 1/4 cup. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emerald J
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very good. I baked the second baking a little longer like other reviewers said, but it turned out great and didn't last long at the church social!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My moms friend when I was a kid 30 years ago used to make these! Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyncia2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Super easy to make, and I am not a baker. I followed the directions as listed. I did end making a 3 layered cake because I used the 9 inch round pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Oh Boy is that EVER a rich cake!!!! My mom loves Turtles so I made this for her birthday. The only change I made was in the caramel sauce...I used roughly half the amount of evaporated milk and butter and increased the caramels by roughly half. The sauce was nice and thick and unbelievably sweet and buttery. I made a glaze of 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips, 3 tbsp of strong coffee, 1 tbsp of brandy and 1 tbsp of butter, melted it all gently in a double boiler and poured it over the top of the cake. It was just like a real turtle. The only thing I found was lacking was that the cake (Devil's food) was too fluffy and not dense enough. If I make this again, I think I'm going to use the "Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake" found on this site instead. That's why it only got 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Omg!! DELICIOUS CAKE!!! Im usually not a big fan of chocolate cakes out of the box but this one was fantastic! The caramel layer with the pecans was perfect! Will deff. be making it again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Seriously good cake. I followed suggestions to put pecans and chocolate chips down before pouring caramel and let the caramel cool a little first, and I had no problems with the caramel pooling. I wanted to top it somehow, but thought frosting would have been too much. I ended up stirring coconut into some Cool Whip, spread that on top and then drizzled some chocolate syrup and caramel over the top. It looked pretty and I think the coconut made it THAT much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this cake last year for supper bowl....It was a Touchdown!! Everyone loved it...and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sinsumama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States