Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I changed this recipe quite a bit. I didn't have pecans so I used walnuts. After reading the reviews, I decided not to drizzle the caramel over the brownies after they were baked instead I swirled it in with a knife along w/ the nuts before baking.They turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARUTH!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love this recipe because turtles are my favorite candy. I also found the caramels hardened too much on top, so I added butter continuously while melting the caramel until it remained soft on my stir spoon after cooling. That fixed the problem and these brownies never stay in the house more than one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Whangaroa, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
These are good, but just a touch too dry for my families taste. Ice cream over it solves that however. ;) Also, just a tip for people who are new to cooking, cream the sugar and butter first before adding the cocoa and such. Otherwise you just work too hard getting the butter to fully blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummmy! Followed recipe for brownies but used caramel icecream topping instead of the caramel candy...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This brownies came out deliciously! I read the other reviews mentioning dryness and combated that by mixing 3/4 c cocoa powder with a few tablespoons of butter and about 1/4 c boiling water. I added this mixture to the batter after the vanilla and before the flour. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and caramel icecream topping instead of caramel candy. I drizzled it over the brownies half way through baking and they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I would have to say this is a good recipe but the other reviews are right, a little too dry. I also listened to one of the other reviews who said to add the caramel and nuts before cooking and that was a great idea, the only problem was I added the nuts to the caramel then tried to pour it in the brownie and it came out in clumps and I had to brake it up.If you add the caramel before you cook it be sure to add it seperate from the nuts so it doesnt become one big clump :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was only OK. I prepared the caramels exactly as instructed and they hardened too much on the top of the brownies. They were difficult to cut and the caramel was hard to chew. The brownies were OK but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Straightforward, yet glamorous looking brownies. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Everybody loved these brownies. The caramel was a bit difficult to spread on, but I didn't have a problem with how it set up. The hardness is just like turtle candies. And the brownie part is really rich and dark. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefaniestar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were a little dry but my husband solved that matter. He drank lots of milk and seemed to get them all down. With a little help from me. :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States