Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I changed this recipe quite a bit. I didn't have pecans so I used walnuts. After reading the reviews, I decided not to drizzle the caramel over the brownies after they were baked instead I swirled it in with a knife along w/ the nuts before baking.They turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARUTH!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were a little dry but my husband solved that matter. He drank lots of milk and seemed to get them all down. With a little help from me. :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
5 stars because the brownies are DELICIOUS, BUT they are exceptionally fattening. Also, I would recommend adding the caramel before you bake it. Put the batter in the pan and drizzle the caramel on top and then use a knife to swirl it in. I would also prefer the nuts be added to the batter mixture instead of adding them on top. Otherwise, it's a fantastic recipe. If you are watching your weight, I wouldn't recommend making these very often. Try a less fattening recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesha986

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smellymel
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I followed directions exactly except I followed most of the others and added the nuts and caramel before baking. I also baked for an additional 7 mins. It just did not seem like it was done at 25. I really disliked this LOL. I love to bake. Ive baked something at least 10 times a year for the past 10 years and this may be the 2nd time ever I have made brownies. After making them, I realized that I rarely eat brownies and this recipe made me remember why. Heavy and really rich. I just dont like the consistancy of brownies. BUT if you love brownies - THIS IS PERFECT! I LOVE baked goods and am a dessert and sugar freak. I could only eat 1 small piece of this. I did not mind having them around because i knew i wouldnt lock myself in the bathroom inhaling them. But if you love brownies and all its rich chocolately goodness - this is FOR YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smellymel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Sooooo good! The only thing I did different was that I used caramel topping, which worked great and was a lot less messy and easier to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Straightforward, yet glamorous looking brownies. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
As written, yes, these are kind of dry and not the ooygooy brownie we all love. Add 1/4 cup veggie oil and it makes a world of difference. I also added a splash of cream to my caramels so that they didn't get so hard upon cooling again. These brownies are the bomb! And my study group devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This brownies came out deliciously! I read the other reviews mentioning dryness and combated that by mixing 3/4 c cocoa powder with a few tablespoons of butter and about 1/4 c boiling water. I added this mixture to the batter after the vanilla and before the flour. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and caramel icecream topping instead of caramel candy. I drizzled it over the brownies half way through baking and they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummmy! Followed recipe for brownies but used caramel icecream topping instead of the caramel candy...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I would have to say this is a good recipe but the other reviews are right, a little too dry. I also listened to one of the other reviews who said to add the caramel and nuts before cooking and that was a great idea, the only problem was I added the nuts to the caramel then tried to pour it in the brownie and it came out in clumps and I had to brake it up.If you add the caramel before you cook it be sure to add it seperate from the nuts so it doesnt become one big clump :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States