Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Sooooo good! The only thing I did different was that I used caramel topping, which worked great and was a lot less messy and easier to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
As written, yes, these are kind of dry and not the ooygooy brownie we all love. Add 1/4 cup veggie oil and it makes a world of difference. I also added a splash of cream to my caramels so that they didn't get so hard upon cooling again. These brownies are the bomb! And my study group devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smellymel
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I followed directions exactly except I followed most of the others and added the nuts and caramel before baking. I also baked for an additional 7 mins. It just did not seem like it was done at 25. I really disliked this LOL. I love to bake. Ive baked something at least 10 times a year for the past 10 years and this may be the 2nd time ever I have made brownies. After making them, I realized that I rarely eat brownies and this recipe made me remember why. Heavy and really rich. I just dont like the consistancy of brownies. BUT if you love brownies - THIS IS PERFECT! I LOVE baked goods and am a dessert and sugar freak. I could only eat 1 small piece of this. I did not mind having them around because i knew i wouldnt lock myself in the bathroom inhaling them. But if you love brownies and all its rich chocolately goodness - this is FOR YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smellymel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Niether my husband nor I cared for this recipe. The brownie itself was dry and tasted very much like the premade Little Debbie brownies you buy at the store. We did cut the sugar in half to make them healthier, but it was the textur that turned us off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
So these were good tasting but I didn't like how the carmel and nuts came off when you cut them and ate them. Very messy! Would prefer to put the nuts into the mix and maybe swirl the carmel in??Then press the pecan halves on top. Not sure I will try them again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
5 stars because the brownies are DELICIOUS, BUT they are exceptionally fattening. Also, I would recommend adding the caramel before you bake it. Put the batter in the pan and drizzle the caramel on top and then use a knife to swirl it in. I would also prefer the nuts be added to the batter mixture instead of adding them on top. Otherwise, it's a fantastic recipe. If you are watching your weight, I wouldn't recommend making these very often. Try a less fattening recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesha986

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made a couple of changes that may be helpful to some. After reading the many reviews concerning the dry brownies, I added a couple of dollups of sour cream to my mixture. The brownies came out moist...with a bit more of a "cake" consistency than the original recipe likely does. I also had some caramel topping for ice cream that I used instead of melting caramels. I added the caramel and walnuts after the brownies came out of the oven. Turned out nicely. They were delicious warm....can't wait to taste once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Everybody loved these brownies. The caramel was a bit difficult to spread on, but I didn't have a problem with how it set up. The hardness is just like turtle candies. And the brownie part is really rich and dark. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefaniestar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummmy! Followed recipe for brownies but used caramel icecream topping instead of the caramel candy...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This brownies came out deliciously! I read the other reviews mentioning dryness and combated that by mixing 3/4 c cocoa powder with a few tablespoons of butter and about 1/4 c boiling water. I added this mixture to the batter after the vanilla and before the flour. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and caramel icecream topping instead of caramel candy. I drizzled it over the brownies half way through baking and they came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States