Turtle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pearl JS
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! First time making bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
sooooo CUTE!!! I made this for my grandmother who was sad at the time and this cheered her right up!! great taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I'm 17 and Ive tried a lot of recipes for bread and this by far is the best Ive ever tried all the other recipes come out with a crust almost to hard to cut and not enough salt. This recipe is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was such an easy recipe ! I never made bread before and it was a great first time. I was dissapointed by the taste though. Next time i would add honey and more sugar or salt. Anyone looking for a light and fluffy bread, this recipe might not be for you. It's not super heavy but not at all what i expected it to be like. I also used an egg wash on the shell (previous review) to make it shiny. This bread is awesome with a chesse spread or butter when warm. It's also very good with soup. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freckles
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is a cute project on a blustery, cold winter day. I covered the bread with foil halfway through baking time so I could get a golden color instead of dark brown. I found a similar recipe in one of my distinguished cook books. The directions are entirely different. The directions in THIS recipe is better, I think, as far as getting that yeast activated. I will add more sugar next time in step #3 as well. very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The end result of this is just, well, adorable. However, taste wise it is lacking. I plan to try this again, at another time, with a favorite more flavorful bread. It's actually quite quick to make though for a bread. I microwaved the milk, instead of cooking it on the stove, and the rise time is very little. The recipe also makes one kind of large loaf of bread. It is about the same size quantity wise of a typical loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
the idea is cute the flavor is...dull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This bread was my first attempt at making bread so I was pleased because it is really easy to do. It is very plain tasting bread so I'll probably make it again and try the salt on top or maybe put more salt in the recipe. I would recommend it though as it is very cute and I feel like making it again at some point. Give it a shot! You'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! I have never made bread before and this was a grand success. I doubled the recipe and made half as the turtle and the other half as a starfish for my daughter's tropics themed birthday party. Everyone was impressed with how neat they looked and how great they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I never ate this bread, but it was one of the best I've worked with as far as kneading goes, and the ratio of bread/liquid. The turtle came out adorable, and no one could bring themselves to eat him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colormekaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States