Turtle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Original review 4/1/06--Excellent bread! I used my bread machine to do part of the kneading. It looked a little sticky in the machine, so I added about 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Then it looked dry, so I added a little honey. It came out perfect---crusty outside, wonderful, white bread inside. Note: 2nd time I made this, we made 'caterpillar bread'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
What a cute idea! I made this recently, and my little siblings loved it! The turtle-shaping instructions were easy to follow, and the finished product was adorable! The bread also tasted very good, and was moist and soft. I used a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in place of a 1/2 cup of white flour, and no one noticed the difference. Thanks for a fun and yummy recipe; I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was cute and tasty! It was a lot of different steps but worth it! My kids enjoyed them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chezna Saxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
This makes the best bread so easily!!! My six- year old helped me. I loved not having leftovers, the one loaf size is perfect to add to any diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is the best bread recipe i have ever made!! I have it in a cookbook, not from this site, but they are extremely similar and when i make it, its gone within a few hours. Its especially good warm out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
so easy and delicious !! not to mention cute !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACIOUSLEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very nice. Turtle directions are good and easy to follow. I made two loaves out of this; doubled the recipe and made the turtle loaf and a regular loaf in my bread pan. Both turned out well. I mixed the dough in my breadmaker and thought I'd have to add water, but after helping it along I just realized it was a bit cranky with me for doubling the recipe. No matter; worked well enough. I refrigerated half the dough until I could get to it to make the turtle shape, and it rose in the fridge. Since I'd oiled the dough, it was a bit difficult to shape into rounds but I managed. Definitely use enough water to attach the rounds to each other. Mine didn't seem that attached but the water kept it togehter and it worked well enough after rising and baking. Thanks for the recipe. The dough is just basic, but easily would adjust to ww, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this with active dry yeast because I couldn't find any, and added some sugar when I was preparing the yeast. And then I forgot to add the sugar and made the bread without the sugar. When it came out, it was a nice light brown, and was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. My mom said it was good for a begginer because this was my first time baking bread. The flavor was a little weak, but probobly because of the lack of sugar. But besides all of that, it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Not only is he cute, he's yummy! I put all the ingredients in my bread machine, set for the dough cycle, with the liquids on the bottom and the yeast on the top. (I used bread machine yeast) When the dough was finished, I followed the instructions from step 4. When you go to mark it, be sure to cut into the dough as I didn't cut deep enough, I only scored it. Before putting it in the oven, I beat an egg and brushed it on the shell to give it a different texture. I was impressed by his looks but his taste is equally as impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Turtles are my fav. animals, so of course I had to make this recipe when I came across it! It was very, very easy and I sprinkled sea salt on top just before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States