Turtle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 5 Peacocks
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My boys loved making this little guy and loved eating him. I thought the recipe was a little too yeasty for me. Will try adding more sugar next time. (I added 1 tbsp with our 1st attempt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
What a cute idea! I made this recently, and my little siblings loved it! The turtle-shaping instructions were easy to follow, and the finished product was adorable! The bread also tasted very good, and was moist and soft. I used a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in place of a 1/2 cup of white flour, and no one noticed the difference. Thanks for a fun and yummy recipe; I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this with active dry yeast because I couldn't find any, and added some sugar when I was preparing the yeast. And then I forgot to add the sugar and made the bread without the sugar. When it came out, it was a nice light brown, and was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. My mom said it was good for a begginer because this was my first time baking bread. The flavor was a little weak, but probobly because of the lack of sugar. But besides all of that, it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The directions don't include the sugar. As I was finishing mixing, I realized I had just been following the directions without thinking. I added the sugar at the end of the mixing. The bread still turned out well, rising nicely in the oven. I substituted 1c. ww flour. So cute! Easy and tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very nice. Turtle directions are good and easy to follow. I made two loaves out of this; doubled the recipe and made the turtle loaf and a regular loaf in my bread pan. Both turned out well. I mixed the dough in my breadmaker and thought I'd have to add water, but after helping it along I just realized it was a bit cranky with me for doubling the recipe. No matter; worked well enough. I refrigerated half the dough until I could get to it to make the turtle shape, and it rose in the fridge. Since I'd oiled the dough, it was a bit difficult to shape into rounds but I managed. Definitely use enough water to attach the rounds to each other. Mine didn't seem that attached but the water kept it togehter and it worked well enough after rising and baking. Thanks for the recipe. The dough is just basic, but easily would adjust to ww, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
so easy and delicious !! not to mention cute !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACIOUSLEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Original review 4/1/06--Excellent bread! I used my bread machine to do part of the kneading. It looked a little sticky in the machine, so I added about 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Then it looked dry, so I added a little honey. It came out perfect---crusty outside, wonderful, white bread inside. Note: 2nd time I made this, we made 'caterpillar bread'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is the best bread recipe i have ever made!! I have it in a cookbook, not from this site, but they are extremely similar and when i make it, its gone within a few hours. Its especially good warm out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
My little 4 year old brother ate it all up, but I think that's only because he loves Mutant Ninja Turtles. I think this bread tastes pretty plain, still it looks cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
This makes the best bread so easily!!! My six- year old helped me. I loved not having leftovers, the one loaf size is perfect to add to any diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States