Turtle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was wonderful. A great idea, and a tasty bread. It is a bit plain--after all, it's plain bread. I didn't have instant yeast, so I did mine the old-fashioned 1 hour 1st rise, 30 minutes 2nd rise method. Worked beautifully. I noticed that 2 reviewers said the recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the sugar--it does. First sentence. Usually AR leaves a note when they make a correction on a recipe, so I'm not sure what happened there. Rather than an egg wash, I gave mine a melted butter wash to add flavor and deepen the color without having to overcook the bread. I used 1 cup unbleached white whole wheat flour (King Arthur brand flour makes this, it's great) in place of 1 cup of white AP flour, & it was great. We were kind of sad to eat him! I'll definitely make this again when I'm serving small children, they'll love it :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I just adore this bread. Ooh he is just far too cute to eat. But we did have to eat him, as it was the only bread I baked yesterday. The bread itself was not the best I have ever eaten and a little bland, but I am still rating this as 5* for the actual idea, simplicity of the recipe and the very easy to follow instructions. Thank you for sharing, I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Great recipe! I continually come back to it! I use whole wheat flour and it turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Co Co Mei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Turtles are my fav. animals, so of course I had to make this recipe when I came across it! It was very, very easy and I sprinkled sea salt on top just before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Not only is he cute, he's yummy! I put all the ingredients in my bread machine, set for the dough cycle, with the liquids on the bottom and the yeast on the top. (I used bread machine yeast) When the dough was finished, I followed the instructions from step 4. When you go to mark it, be sure to cut into the dough as I didn't cut deep enough, I only scored it. Before putting it in the oven, I beat an egg and brushed it on the shell to give it a different texture. I was impressed by his looks but his taste is equally as impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was cute and tasty! It was a lot of different steps but worth it! My kids enjoyed them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chezna Saxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was very cute, but we have found much better recipes for bread on here. I think lots of kinds of bread dough would work for this. But it was very cute, and we made a caterpillar one too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very easy to make, great directions! Also very fun, I can't wait till my daughter is old enough to make it with me. I didn't have raisins so we used chocolate chips for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Super Easy! I also noticed that the instructions didn't include the listed sugar ingredient, but I just threw it in when I mixed the flour and other ingredients. I wish there were a few pointers on shaping the bread as my turtle looks like he's flying outta the oven! He's too cute though...almost too cute to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I had a ball making this for my next-door 2 yo twins' birthday this morning. Doubt I'll get a bite of it, so I can't rate on taste, but it is quick and easy and TCFW. I used 3 raisins for each eye and I don't know what instant yeast is so I just used my regular "active dry" and it seemed to work just fine. A great kids' recipe. Thank you for posting it. One of the boys liked it so well he said my name for the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States