Turtle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by rileysmom1507
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I did the turtle but with the wheat bread dough from Winco Grocery Store...It turned out soo good :) & the dough only cosr $1.75 already prepared so we just formed it & sprinkled it with blueberry honey... SOO GOOD & fed 8 of us for under 2bucks Oh & we were out of raisins so we used Kellogs yogos bites which turned out good. im gona post a pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This bread turtle came out perfectly. I brushed some egg on the shell and it gave it a shiny finish that helped to divide the shell from the turtle parts. It's 4 stars instead of 5 because the taste of the bread is pretty plain. Next time I'll try a different kind of bread with the same sculpting methods and see what happens. But a really awesome idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This dough was so easy to work with! I substituted 1 c. of the flour with whole wheat, used 2 TBSP. of sugar, 2 TBSP. of butter, and added about 1 TBSP. of honey to the milk/butter mixture before adding it in to the yeast mixture. I didn't have the instant yeast so I let it rise about 1 hour, shaped it, and then let it rise another 30 minutes. Brush with egg wash and again with butter right before it comes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cctaylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Photo by LeadHeaded
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I thought it turned out very cute. I used olives for the eyes. Bread's taste could be a little better. Maybe a little more butter or olive oil next time. Very cute though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made this with my 5yr old son. It is super easy to make and we had so much fun making it together! Came out very cute and it is so good. So good. Like a giant, soft biscuit! I couldn't stop eating it. We brushed it with butter a few minutes after it came out and that made it so soft. Next time we will use the egg wash and sea salt. Mmmm! Great recipe, thanks for sharing! Easy to do with kids and fun and cute, too! Be sure you put raisins in before it rises the last time (after you shape and form) so they stay in. My son insisted on adding all sorts of claws after it rose..and they were pushed out and burnt. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Fun recipe and super easy to follow. Kids loved helping with it and shaping the turtles - we made this into 2 loaves so they each had their own turtle, and even dyed them green (added about 10 drops of green food coloring to the milk). Also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white. If I make it again, will probably add honey or a bit more butter, needs just a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
5 STAR RECIPE!! Sooooo easy to make and came out perfect!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe is awesome! My bread came out very crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. It was easy to assemble too. The eyes popped out while it baked, so I had to poke a hole in and stuff them back in. I used soy milk, not cow's milk, and instead of an egg, I used an egg replacement called Ener-G. Definitely a keeper recipe, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This bread is so great! We've made it with all white flour and with 1 cup of whole wheat. We think it tastes great both ways. It also stays soft and keeps well for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was wonderful. A great idea, and a tasty bread. It is a bit plain--after all, it's plain bread. I didn't have instant yeast, so I did mine the old-fashioned 1 hour 1st rise, 30 minutes 2nd rise method. Worked beautifully. I noticed that 2 reviewers said the recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the sugar--it does. First sentence. Usually AR leaves a note when they make a correction on a recipe, so I'm not sure what happened there. Rather than an egg wash, I gave mine a melted butter wash to add flavor and deepen the color without having to overcook the bread. I used 1 cup unbleached white whole wheat flour (King Arthur brand flour makes this, it's great) in place of 1 cup of white AP flour, & it was great. We were kind of sad to eat him! I'll definitely make this again when I'm serving small children, they'll love it :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States