Turos Csusza (Pasta with Cottage Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I'm sorry for the few stars but even though American folks seem to like this recipe it is not a túrós csusza. That's primarily because cottage cheese does not exist in Hungary. We use "túró" (hence the name) which is a slightly curdier version of what you buy in the US as farmers' cheese. We don't mix the pasta with sour cream, rather the cheese itself, and top it with the sour cream before putting it in the oven. Alternatively, the sour cream is mixed in with the cheese. Trust me, it is the right cheese that really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is an amazing meal! This recipe is the authentic way of making it, don't change a thing as it doesn't need it. My Hungarian parents always made this and it taste awsome! You could skip the oven part and just warm cottage cheese and sour cream on stove top with the noodles. I made this for my family and my daughter loves it! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
delicious recipe...I too did not believe this could be so good...I did add a little smoked paprika and Lawry's garlic powder to the dish, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressa Krenzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My mom was of Hungarian descent and used to make this all the time, minus the bacon. It was my comfort food growing up! Can be made even easier with just the noodles, cottage cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Charlee, this is really good! I didn't use bacon (because I didn't have any)...instead did as one reviewer suggested and caramelized onions. I added a little balsamic vinegar & brown sugar as I was sauteeing them to add sweetness and nice color - and used whole wheat noodle pasta. The taste reminded me of the noodle pudding I ate when vacationing in Prague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We make this once a week on Grocery Day. It is so easy and everyone loves it. Hubby's Family is Hungarian and this is just one of So many amazing meals to make. A lot of the times we do not add the bacon and just salt and pepper it and we just make it on the stove top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This recipe caught my eye when looking for something to use homemade egg noodles with. The recipe for Egg Noodles by Linda was the perfect compliment to this one. Used half the sour cream, twice the bacon and chives for presentation/flavor and this became the most unique outstanding side dish ever. Lots of work...but worth every second spent!!! To heck with fast and easy...this dish really rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I like to add some dried chives to this recipe. The flavor is subtle but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is truly authentic, just like my Hungarian grandma would make. I used bow-tie pasta instead of the egg noodles, and used a whole bunch more of bacon because it seemed the amount for the recipe wasn't enough to evenly distribute the little bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a good dish, the baking time was off a little. I put it in the oven as directed, but it wasn't nearly enough time. I would suggest at least 30 minutes baking time. I put it in for 5 minutes, still cold. Added another 10 minutes, warm. When reheated for lunch, it was amazing because it was bubbling hot and the cottage cheese was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States