Turos Csusza (Pasta with Cottage Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I used low fat cottage cheese, light sour cream and bacon crumbles. It's very simple, but really good. I used as a side dish, but it will be making an appearance as a main dish in future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'm not entirely sure how I stumbled across this, but I'm a huge fan of making new and interesting things. Having no background in Hungarian cuisine, the combination of sour cream and cottage cheese on pasta sounded bizarre--so I knew I had to try it. It's extremely easy to make; at no point did I have to write down the ingredients and amounts, just eyeballed it and adjusted it to my taste. Cooking the bacon as the water boils means this dish is done in under 10 minutes. Super easy. The taste of it is incredible, too--warm and creamy and strangely satisfying. It's so simple and so delicious that it's going to become part of my regular meal rotation, and probably something I will pass down to my children. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good- an aquired taste. Kids hated it- I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Pretty good and simple. Wanted an easy one pot dinner, and this worked out great. Would of been fine as is, but to make it a whole meal I added a can of drained diced tomatoes and some frozen peas. Also topped with carmalized onions along with the bacon as suggested by someone else. Just needed a little salt and pepper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This recipe sounded kind of bland, but it was surprisingly flavorful. I would just add a bit more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My mom was of Hungarian descent and used to make this all the time, minus the bacon. It was my comfort food growing up! Can be made even easier with just the noodles, cottage cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I stumbled upon this recipe after entering an ingredient search with the very limited ingredients I had on hand. My seven year old is rating it four stars and wants to say "this is a very good recipe and I want to have it again." I will make it again because it was very easy and kid pleasing. Next time I will add more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My favorite Hungarian meal ever completely authentic and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great! For a lower-fat version, instead of smoked bacon use Lite Spam, grate or chop it into little pieces, and fry until the bits are crispy and most of the fat is out. This way you can add more meat for lower fat. Tastes great! No need to put into oven unless you want to crisp the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This didn't taste as good as I thought it would. It just didn't seem to work. I've never had Hungarian food before. Guess maybe I'm not a fan? Simple to make, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States