Turos Csusza (Pasta with Cottage Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
And I've made this many times. Farmer's cheese is used in the original version, cottage cheese is a derivative of farmer's cheese. Simply put the cottage cheese in a towel and hang it for a few hours over your sink to drain away the fluid. Then add to the noodles as directed. This is too delicious to quibble about details. I do add some onion, and heat the stuff in the microwave. This is very simple food, which I dearly love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is a dish my parents picked up from my Hungarian grandmother. We called it "Cottage Cheese and Noodles." Everyone in my family loves it. The most important ingredient is the bacon grease. Leave it out, the dish is bland. We never cooked it in the oven. It was all stove top and ingredients served individually and passed around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I tried using some left over ham to replace bacon. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very, very bland. I suggest leaving out everything but the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I was a little hesitant to try this recipe, but I eventually mustered up the courage to, and WOW! It was delicious, and the bacon really enhances the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLaBug

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Added garlic, used onions instead of bacon and re-heated in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this with extra bacon and that was the only thing that really saved it. It was extremely bland. Adding salt helped, but there was really no flavor for the salt to bring out. On the up side, it was really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This recipe caught my eye when looking for something to use homemade egg noodles with. The recipe for Egg Noodles by Linda was the perfect compliment to this one. Used half the sour cream, twice the bacon and chives for presentation/flavor and this became the most unique outstanding side dish ever. Lots of work...but worth every second spent!!! To heck with fast and easy...this dish really rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
delicious recipe...I too did not believe this could be so good...I did add a little smoked paprika and Lawry's garlic powder to the dish, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tressa Krenzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a good dish, the baking time was off a little. I put it in the oven as directed, but it wasn't nearly enough time. I would suggest at least 30 minutes baking time. I put it in for 5 minutes, still cold. Added another 10 minutes, warm. When reheated for lunch, it was amazing because it was bubbling hot and the cottage cheese was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States