Turnip and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved it, it was easy to make and the only change I made was about 70% less bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betpchem
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is very good. I had never had turnips before, and I was a little apprehensive, but they were quite tasty. I wasn't too fond of the greens, but I didn't use kale. I used the tops of the turnips and some other greens I had laying around. I skipped the bacon and I used milk and butter instead of heavy cream. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe as is. For convenience, I omitted the bacon and used olive oil to cook instead, but did add Costco's precoooked/crumbled bacon bits as topping. Delightful. Even my picky eatting daughter enjoyed it. Great way to add the nutrition of turnips to our diet! Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yeah, it was ok. Maybe I'm just not a turnip fan. I didn't have cream and used cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
good flavor in my opinion, my husband said it was ok. Probably would have been better with the bacon, but I didn't have any. I also used 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup 2% milk to cut the fat a bit. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a bit of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as written and it was very good. We had fresh turnips and onions from our CSA share and fresh thyme from our herb garden and this was a good way to use them. The whole family enjoyed this. Very hearty with some fresh baked bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I used butter instead of bacon fat and added more savory spices such as oregano, rosemary and sage along with vegetable bullion for the broth....it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful. I made it as directed except I didn't use potatoes as I am trying to watch carbs. I used dried thyme as I didn't have fresh and used chicken broth instead of water. This is going to be a winter go-to soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
this was very tasty. it was the first time I had turnips and i really liked it. I didn't have fresh thyme so i used like a tsp of dried. very hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States