Turnip and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was truly delicious! I added extra seasoning: garlic, thyme sprigs, fresh oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. I also sprinkled in bacon bits instead of real bacon. My WHOLE family loved it! Kids eating turnip soup and asking for seconds: Priceless :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I loved it. I had fresh Dill handy, so threw that in, in place of the thyme. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Hazlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved it, it was easy to make and the only change I made was about 70% less bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betpchem
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is very good. I had never had turnips before, and I was a little apprehensive, but they were quite tasty. I wasn't too fond of the greens, but I didn't use kale. I used the tops of the turnips and some other greens I had laying around. I skipped the bacon and I used milk and butter instead of heavy cream. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe as is. For convenience, I omitted the bacon and used olive oil to cook instead, but did add Costco's precoooked/crumbled bacon bits as topping. Delightful. Even my picky eatting daughter enjoyed it. Great way to add the nutrition of turnips to our diet! Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yeah, it was ok. Maybe I'm just not a turnip fan. I didn't have cream and used cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
good flavor in my opinion, my husband said it was ok. Probably would have been better with the bacon, but I didn't have any. I also used 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup 2% milk to cut the fat a bit. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a bit of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as written and it was very good. We had fresh turnips and onions from our CSA share and fresh thyme from our herb garden and this was a good way to use them. The whole family enjoyed this. Very hearty with some fresh baked bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I used butter instead of bacon fat and added more savory spices such as oregano, rosemary and sage along with vegetable bullion for the broth....it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful. I made it as directed except I didn't use potatoes as I am trying to watch carbs. I used dried thyme as I didn't have fresh and used chicken broth instead of water. This is going to be a winter go-to soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States