Turnip and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was wonderful. Very simple and not very time consuming. I hate when people change the recipe and then say how wonderful it was but I find using chicken stock instead of water added flavor. I add 2 bulbs of minced garlic with the potato/turnip and add whatever fresh herbs I have on hand with the thyme. Leeks work really well for the onions. To save calories you can put some of the soup in a blender to thicken it instead of adding heavy cream and it is delicious that way as well but it obviously changes the texture. Either or this is a go too recipe on those cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was truly delicious! I added extra seasoning: garlic, thyme sprigs, fresh oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. I also sprinkled in bacon bits instead of real bacon. My WHOLE family loved it! Kids eating turnip soup and asking for seconds: Priceless :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I loved it. I had fresh Dill handy, so threw that in, in place of the thyme. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Hazlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved it, it was easy to make and the only change I made was about 70% less bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betpchem
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is very good. I had never had turnips before, and I was a little apprehensive, but they were quite tasty. I wasn't too fond of the greens, but I didn't use kale. I used the tops of the turnips and some other greens I had laying around. I skipped the bacon and I used milk and butter instead of heavy cream. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe as is. For convenience, I omitted the bacon and used olive oil to cook instead, but did add Costco's precoooked/crumbled bacon bits as topping. Delightful. Even my picky eatting daughter enjoyed it. Great way to add the nutrition of turnips to our diet! Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yeah, it was ok. Maybe I'm just not a turnip fan. I didn't have cream and used cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
good flavor in my opinion, my husband said it was ok. Probably would have been better with the bacon, but I didn't have any. I also used 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup 2% milk to cut the fat a bit. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a bit of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as written and it was very good. We had fresh turnips and onions from our CSA share and fresh thyme from our herb garden and this was a good way to use them. The whole family enjoyed this. Very hearty with some fresh baked bread and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I used butter instead of bacon fat and added more savory spices such as oregano, rosemary and sage along with vegetable bullion for the broth....it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States