Turnip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by railgal
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I added the picture. My recipe has carrots, which were cooked with the turnips, and I didn't peel the apples. The first time I made it as written, but it was just so bland looking, but it wasn't bland. Quite delicious. I did cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I needed a recipe for turnips and this turned out great. My husband liked it and didn't even know it had turnips in it until I told him. I added less than half the sugar that the recipe called for and it was still surprising sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I thought turnips were just for stews. Then they showed up in my farm share and in 90 degree weather, I just wasn't in a stew mood! This attracted me for its uniqueness. It was amazingly delicious! The family loved it . I mentioned it to coworkers, so then had to bring them some to taste--it was inhaled! Can't wait for a potluck so I can make this and surprise everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and with half the oil. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
This was surprisingly good! You'll never believe it has turnips when you taste it...so it's a great way to get rid of summer turnips. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've never had turnips before and got 2 from a co-op. I wanted a summer friendly dish. Not sure what size the turnips should be but I had a med, & large one and it seemed to be the right amount for the recipe. I added 2 more slices of pineapple & reduced the sugar. I thought it was a unique, good salad for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
SORRY BUT I HATED THIS RECIPE. SOMETHING ABOUT COLD TURNIPS....MAYBE IT'S JUST ME BUT I THOUGHT THE FLAVORS DID NOT BLEND AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is a great use of turnips. I used 1/2 the sugar and added 3 tablespoon of greek yogurt and a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I have never been a fan of turnips but had some I wanted to use. This recipe was delicious and has turned me into a fan of turnips. Will definitely make this again. I did add carrots with the turnips as I cooked them. We do not like soft, mushy vegetables so only cooked them about 10-15 minutes. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I can not say if this is good R not...? Sounds good to me, but my question is(after reading the ingretidents) what is orange in the Pic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States