Turnip Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is a great use of turnips. I used 1/2 the sugar and added 3 tablespoon of greek yogurt and a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is very tasty recipe (I also had too many turnips from my farm share and needed to find something to do with them). However next time I think I would use less oil and add a little white vinegar to up the tangy factor. I also followed others advice to cut the sugar in half and I agree with that. I'll experiment and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We just had this for Easter dinner! It went fantastically with spiral ham! Will defintely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I have never been a fan of turnips but had some I wanted to use. This recipe was delicious and has turned me into a fan of turnips. Will definitely make this again. I did add carrots with the turnips as I cooked them. We do not like soft, mushy vegetables so only cooked them about 10-15 minutes. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I've never had turnips before and got 2 from a co-op. I wanted a summer friendly dish. Not sure what size the turnips should be but I had a med, & large one and it seemed to be the right amount for the recipe. I added 2 more slices of pineapple & reduced the sugar. I thought it was a unique, good salad for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I can not say if this is good R not...? Sounds good to me, but my question is(after reading the ingretidents) what is orange in the Pic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by railgal
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I added the picture. My recipe has carrots, which were cooked with the turnips, and I didn't peel the apples. The first time I made it as written, but it was just so bland looking, but it wasn't bland. Quite delicious. I did cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I thought turnips were just for stews. Then they showed up in my farm share and in 90 degree weather, I just wasn't in a stew mood! This attracted me for its uniqueness. It was amazingly delicious! The family loved it . I mentioned it to coworkers, so then had to bring them some to taste--it was inhaled! Can't wait for a potluck so I can make this and surprise everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and with half the oil. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I needed a recipe for turnips and this turned out great. My husband liked it and didn't even know it had turnips in it until I told him. I added less than half the sugar that the recipe called for and it was still surprising sweet and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States