Turkish Style Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I have to agree with the first reviewer - the flavors don't really work. This wasn't ghastly but it wasn't great either. Thanks anyway. (PS I meant to say this earlier - for a nice neat poached egg, bring the water/salt/vinegar to a boil, turn down the heat, then stir the water vigorously so that it is swirling around. Crack the eggs in the center of the swirl. Turn the heat up to medium, and simmer until it is as soft or as hard as you want. You've got yourself a nice neat poached egg!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband is originally from Istanbul...I told him about this recipe and he said he would make it for me. I was almost done inhaling mine when he asked if I needed a spoon...I told him I needed a longer tongue so I could lick the enitre bowl. This dish is AMAZING. I can't wait to have my parents over for breakfast...this will blow them away. We usually have nice breakfasts on the weekends but I've started making this for myself ont he weekedays before I go to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
That is a very good recipe, it is very light for the summer dinners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Contrary to what the other reviewer wrote, I enjoyed the garlic taste. I used fat free yogurt instead of regular, however, and I did not use the full amount called for in the recipe. I also added some seasoning. I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe! It is nice and garlicky. My only recommendation is to heat up the yogurt a bit so it doesn't make the eggs cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great recipe. If you don't like vinegar and garlic, don't make it. I love both. This is an authentic recipe for an original Turkish dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primadonamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this recipe, which I actually found in another cookbook. Try adding chopped, fresh parsley to the butter, and if the garlic is too strong, add that to the butter sauce, too, to mellow it out some. A few hot pepper flakes are also a nice touch if you like a little more heat. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe is delicious! It's rich and creamy, and nonfat Greek yogurt worked perfectly for a healthier version. Even my super-picky teenagers liked it. I will be making this again, and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I love this breakfast! It is sooo delicious, I have it several times a week. I like to add extra garlic & lots of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was interesting. I felt that the recipe called for too much garlic and paprika. I will makes this again though, because I am sure I undercooked the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States