Turkish Style Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great recipe. If you don't like vinegar and garlic, don't make it. I love both. This is an authentic recipe for an original Turkish dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primadonamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I tried this (with less garlic) and it was really nice! Certainly a memorable taste. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. It is a bit unusual, and I don't like how the yogurt cools the eggs down (I like hot food to be hot), but other than that I enjoyed these. Not sure what bf would think, but he wasn't around for breakfast this morning, so I won't worry about that. I don't know if the type of yogurt used makes a huge difference, but I have plain greek yogurt so I used that, and the tang was really good. I forgot the minced garlic so I just sprinkled garlic powder on top when I did remember. Otherwise, I kept it the same. I made 2 eggs and ate with toast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Sorry but IMO these flavors just did not go well together. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband is originally from Istanbul...I told him about this recipe and he said he would make it for me. I was almost done inhaling mine when he asked if I needed a spoon...I told him I needed a longer tongue so I could lick the enitre bowl. This dish is AMAZING. I can't wait to have my parents over for breakfast...this will blow them away. We usually have nice breakfasts on the weekends but I've started making this for myself ont he weekedays before I go to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of eggs, especially poached, so this recipe was impressive. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, and cayenne instead of paprika. I used only half the fresh garlic, and it was still a bit too strong for me. The eggs were great, but the sauce was delicious, definitely the best part. If I do it again, which I probably will, I'll use just a little garlic powder. Great recipe, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I had some leftover yogurt to use up, so I search for a recipe and come upon this one. i tryed it and enjoyed it. I did not use real garlic but used garlic garlic from tastfully simple and it was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
That is a very good recipe, it is very light for the summer dinners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I have to agree with the first reviewer - the flavors don't really work. This wasn't ghastly but it wasn't great either. Thanks anyway. (PS I meant to say this earlier - for a nice neat poached egg, bring the water/salt/vinegar to a boil, turn down the heat, then stir the water vigorously so that it is swirling around. Crack the eggs in the center of the swirl. Turn the heat up to medium, and simmer until it is as soft or as hard as you want. You've got yourself a nice neat poached egg!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Contrary to what the other reviewer wrote, I enjoyed the garlic taste. I used fat free yogurt instead of regular, however, and I did not use the full amount called for in the recipe. I also added some seasoning. I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States