Turkish Red Lentil Soup with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is ezogelin soup, a traditional Turkish soup that was supposedly invented by an unhappy bride (gelin). Here in Turkey, it can be thrown together with basic ingredients found in any kitchen. This version tastes exactly like the soup you'll get at a family dinner or a kebap shop. Ezo the bride probably peeled and chopped her own tomatoes, but in this recipe the canned version works just as well. For a more robust taste, try sauteeing the tomato paste with the vegetables for a couple minutes before adding the chicken stock. Watch it closely at the end as the grains might soak up too much liquid and start sticking to the bottom. Also, crushed red pepper flakes are more traditional than cayenne pepper. Sprinkle on top and add a sprig of mint and a lemon wedge on the side for restaurant-style service.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is amazing!! I doubled the onion and garlic; used double the stock and 1 lb of lentils. I didn't have rice so used 1/2 c bulgar. no diced tomatoes either so use about 1/3 c tomato paste. doubled cayenne and paprika - superb! I didn't even wait to blend it, just broke off some hearty chewy bread and dug in. This rivals the soup I discovered in a Turkish restaurant in Cleveland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I am in Turkey right now, learning how to make Turkish dishes and found this one. It has been a hit so far in my family especially with my husband. Says it tastes like something you would find in a restaurant. I love it too because I always seems to have these ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious and bright. I added only 1/4 tsp cayenne which was perfect for my tastes, and I used two cloves of garlic. It looked so good unblended (and the photo in the recipe is unblended) that I tasted it blended and not blended. I don't see the need to blend this unless you prefer the texture, but it tasted better and had better texture to me unblended. I will make this again, so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I eliminated the oil, used water instead of stock, and changed the bulgar to couscous. I added the couscous just 5 minutes before serving. This smelled delicious and tasted great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I loved this recipe, I had a cold and the cayenne pepper really cleared me up. I didn't have any tomato paste so i used some of the juice from the canned tomatoes and I used brown rice because I don't eat white rice. If you do use brown rice I would recommend using a bit more so it still resembles soup at the end of cooking. I have found that I need to add water to every reheat to give it a soup consistency again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Update: I make this recipe almost every week now. I love it and crave it! I use 1/2 cup of bulgur and no rice. I always add extra garlic. It also tastes great with green or brown lentils; it's just not as pretty without red lentils. I also skip the whole blending step simply because it's less to clean up. If it is too spicy for some people, add in a little sour cream to their bowl. Still delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Heat: recipe starts with High heat and gives no clarification for the steps thereafter. Result: burned soup 30 minute cooking: recipe gives no indication of covered or uncovered or partially covered. Result: unable to achieve required consistency. Spices: Use 1/4 or 1/2 tsp paprika to start with. Skip the cayenne. Spices are a supplement or an enhancer - not an overpowerer. If you've ever been to New Orleans, you'll know what I'm talking about as they (generally) know how to use the hot spices appropriately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I highly recommend this extremely healthy, hearty, and delicious soup. Make exactly as stated. If you are sensitive to spicy food watch the amount of Cayenne and Parika you use. We like the kick so no changes here! This filling soup is perfect to warm you on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been using allrecipes.com for years and have never bothered to write a review. However, this soup is so good, that I would be doing the public a disservice if I did not ever write one for this soup. I love, love, love this soup. I make it exactly as written, but I'm often out of mint; it tastes just as fine without it. I sometimes add a dollop of sour cream or some heavy cream if I need some more comfort with my meal. I have doubled and even tripled the recipe without a hitch. Tell your friends and family... this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States