Turkish Red Lentil Soup with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
excellent!!! instead olive oil I use butter, and instead rice quinoa. Here is how I make chicken soup: • 2 kg raw higher-welfare chicken carcasses, legs or wings chopped • ½ head garlic, unpeeled and bashed • 5 sticks celery, roughly chopped • 2 medium leeks, roughly chopped • 2 med onions, roughly chopped • 2 large carrots, roughly chopped • 4 bay leaves • 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary • 5 sprigs of fresh parsley • 5 sprigs of fresh thyme • 5 whole black peppercorns • 6 litres cold water • 1/2 tspoon vegeta no msg Place the chicken carcasses, garlic, vegetables, herbs and peppercorns in a large, deep-bottomed pan. Add the cold water and bring to the boil, skim, then turn the heat down to a simmer. Continue to simmer gently for 3-4 hours, skimming as necessary, then pass the stock through a fine sieve. Allow to cool for about half an hour, then refrigerate. Once the stock is cold it should look clear and slightly amber in colour. I usually divide it into small plastic containers at this point and freeze it. It will keep in the fridge for about 4 days and in the freezer for 2-3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladimir Bulatovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Fabulous soup. Best soup I've had from this site. Made it exactly as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I make this once a month and freeze it . I warm up some pita bread n butter with it it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Wonderful soup, I made the mistake of using whole wheat bulgur, which, even if there is only 1/4 cup of it in there, is a bit overpowering. Also, I don't think the lemon should only be mentionned as an optional garnish, it really makes the soup shine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe is phenomenal - tastes just like at the Turkish restaurant I go to. I used 1/2 cup of quinoa in place of the bulgar and rice. I used 3/4 cup of red lentils. I needed to up the liquid to 55 oz of chicken broth. I 1.5'd all the spices (so 1.5 tsp paprika, 1 tsp cayenne, 1.5 tbs mint). Threw in a shake of onion powder and garlic powder. 3 cloves of garlic. Used 3 TBS of tomato paste and 1 plum tomato diced by hand instead of the diced tomatoes. SO DELICIOUS! UPDATE: This is now a weekly meal in my house. My boyfriend can't get enough of it - he literally pours it into a coffee mug and just drinks it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
We loved this soup so much that within days we made another batch to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been using allrecipes.com for years and have never bothered to write a review. However, this soup is so good, that I would be doing the public a disservice if I did not ever write one for this soup. I love, love, love this soup. I make it exactly as written, but I'm often out of mint; it tastes just as fine without it. I sometimes add a dollop of sour cream or some heavy cream if I need some more comfort with my meal. I have doubled and even tripled the recipe without a hitch. Tell your friends and family... this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Not a fan of lentils, but love this soup! I made a few substitutions, based on what I had on hand. Used regular lentils (1 cup), no rice or bulgur. Fresh tomato, not canned. Chili powder to replace cayenne pepper. Pumpkin puree (yes, Libby's pumpkin) instead of tomato paste. You can't taste the pumpkin. Used as a thickener. Pureed the soup with my immersion blender. Great stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yummy!! I added lemon juice and used butter instead of olive oil. I omitted cayenne pepper. Served each bowl un puréed (I enjoy the textures!!) with a dollop of Greek yogurt. The mint & lemon are a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Way too much spice! I'll try this again without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States