Turkish Red Lentil Soup with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
We really enjoyed this one. I had no wheat, so I used double the rice (used brown), and cut the cayenne to a pinch. My toddler ate three bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This soup is absolutely delicious! I first made it about 1-1/2 years ago and it instantly became a family favorite. My husband, who used to not like anything spicy hot, told me the first time he tried it that it needed to be hotter! (I used only 1/4 tsp cayenne the first time). We use olive oil (although today I'm trying coconut oil) and a vegan chicken broth to make it a completely vegan recipe. I also use 3/4 - 1 whole cup of red lentils because I love them, and 1/2 cup bulgur wheat - omitting the rice, because it's just easier since we don't eat white rice, and I don't want to deal with brown rice cooking times. Thanks for an AWESOME, healthy, scrumptious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Love, love!! Reminds me of delicious Turkish food!! Oh how I miss the food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made it exactly as per recipe and it was/is delicious!! I lived in Turkey for 4 years and this brought me back to all the delicious food! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was very good. Like another reviewer, I also doubled the amount of onion and garlic. I also substituted the bulgar wheat with quinoa to keep it gluten free. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
found it a little spicy with 1/2 tsp cayenne, will cut that back a bit in future batches. Excellent flavour though; enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This soup is fantastic. Very easy to make, absolutely delicious, and very filling. I definitely ate too much. Can't wait to take leftovers to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Made this recipe for a friend that needed it to be Kosher, so I used vegetarian broth; at the same time I made it with chicken broth. Didn't have bulgar, but used brown rice and red lentils and everything else except cayenne. Had fresh mint so used that. Pureed the soup and it is wonderful. So happy to be able to provide my friend with a hearty bowl of soup. Thanks for posting this. Would enjoy making it again with the bulgar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Update: I make this recipe almost every week now. I love it and crave it! I use 1/2 cup of bulgur and no rice. I always add extra garlic. It also tastes great with green or brown lentils; it's just not as pretty without red lentils. I also skip the whole blending step simply because it's less to clean up. If it is too spicy for some people, add in a little sour cream to their bowl. Still delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We really loved this one! I used more lentils than bulgur/rice. Added more paprika/cayenne to the bowls for the grown ups. Made it look pretty and taste better. I did not have stock so used water instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States