Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Aw, man, this soup rocks! It takes me back to when I lived in Turkey from 1980-1983. I can't believe that I finally found a recipe for the soup I used to love so much! Thank you! This one is definitely a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was delicious! So easy and so good! My family loves it. I've made it three times in one month. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This sounded intriguing and I'm so glad we tried it. Quick & easy, inexpensive, and boy was it good! It was very filling, and the mint and lemon "made" the dish. I used half broth and half water to cut down on salt, and it tasted wonderful. Am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is great! I made a quite a few changes, only because I wanted to use up what we had in our cupboards. It's a great recipe, and is very forgivable, so I'm still rating it 5 stars. I want to report the ingredients I used, so people know the substitutions will work. First, I used half red lentils, and half brown, chicken broth instead of vegetable stock, chopped sundried tomatoes instead of tomato paste, lemon juice instead of sliced lemons, and left out the mint. Wow, I guess I really did change it up. But even with these substitutions, the soup was great. This will be my new favorite go to soup recipe! Cheap, easy, and tastes great. Can't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Really easy to prepare and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this soup for a Turkish friend and she agrees that it’s very close to authentic and delicious. My only suggestion is to keep the lid on the pot as the lentils and bulgur absorb a lot of the liquid. I like heat so I doubled the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Lovely soup! I cooked it in the pressure cooker and cut cooking time in half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Okay. See Notes for customizing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a tasty, filling, easy to make soup. It is good with chicken broth or vegetable broth. It tastes best the next day (or the day after), when it takes on a creamy consistency like dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
It's not that this soup is amazing, it's just that I keep trying lentil soups and this seems to be the only one that is all about the lentils, and is not dominated by other flavors or spices. It is easy to make too. All the ingredients fit right in a pan I have with 3" sides and the lid worked great to simmer it. I used 2 level tblsp of low-sodium broth paste to the 8 cups of water. I figured I could add sea salt at the end if it needed more. I am not too familiar with bulgar and it tasted a lot to me like barley. I liked the addition of the lemon flavor. I just used a little squeezed lemon juice. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States