Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
One onion was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
My Turkish husband loves this soup! Don't forget to squeeze lemon juice into it as you eat it. Delicious and a very forgiving recipe. I've had to make substitutions from time to time and the variations rarely hurt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Nice, filling soup with great flavour. I found 2 tsp of dried mint was enough, perhaps my mint was particularly pungent? I squeezed a bit of lemon juice into the soup rather than put lemon slices on top. My kids definitely did not like the look of this soup (colour and texture) but loved the taste so I would suggest lots of garnish if your family tends to judge food by appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Lovely soup, my background in cooking is middle eastern cuisine and I found this to be a nice change to lentil soup. I added chili powder instead and a little citric acid while simmering to give it a little tang and it was delicious served with toasted pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
First time I saw "Bride's soup" on allrecipes! Awesome. I had been winging it for a while. The only difference I made was that I added Sumac (a purple Turkish spice) and cooked with a pinch of lemon salt. (Squeeze of lemon while cooking will work too, in addition to the lemon slices at the end that are already mentioned.) I cook the lentils first, then hand-blend, then cook the bulgur after. And also, just because I only ever have this on hand, I always use fresh Miso paste for my stock for all my soups and I think it makes no difference. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing! My fiancé and I lived on Bride's soup when we were in Turkey, even though the traditional "Lentil çorba" is more common...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burntgrilledcheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever made!! My grocery store did not have vegetable stock so I used vegetable broth instead and also added some extra powdered broth because it tasted a bit bland. I also added some finely chopped cauliflower. 10/10 will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Alimonos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great cool evening main dish. We had a baked potato on the side. I did make it a bit different, since there was fresh mint in the garden, I diced to very fine the mint and used 1/4 cup leaves, and cooked it with the entire batch of broth at step 3. For the broth used for broth the mushroom flavored 'better than bouillon brand, 1 teaspoon for each cup of water. You do need to cook with the lid off the pot to help it thicken, or at least I did. Also, when I served I had lemon garnish as suggested, but also added a dollop of 'sour cream' by Tofutti, which is vegan. A great and hearty vegan meal! I love AllReciepes.com since I can truly find anything here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Awesome... I make it once a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Such a great dish! Added a diced carrot and celery stalk. Used my immersion blender at the end to make it smooth. Stirred in some plain yogurt and ate with crusty bread. Used half stock, half water to reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Fantastic soup! Added more dried mint from the beginning when frying the onions. Added 2 cups of diced cooked ham. This recipe is a keeper. Genevia, thanks for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States