Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Awesome... I make it once a week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Such a great dish! Added a diced carrot and celery stalk. Used my immersion blender at the end to make it smooth. Stirred in some plain yogurt and ate with crusty bread. Used half stock, half water to reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Fantastic soup! Added more dried mint from the beginning when frying the onions. Added 2 cups of diced cooked ham. This recipe is a keeper. Genevia, thanks for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Wow! This soup is amazing! I subsituted 1/2 cup of rice for the bulgar and added 2 carrots and 4 celery stalks to the onions. It was so delicious, I already forwarded the recipe to my brother and sister as we have a middle eastern dad that use to cook for us all the time. An instant favorite that I will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is the best lentil soup EVER! My spouse is middle eastern so I've had my fair share of lentil soups. This is the best! I love that it's a 1 pot meal too- no blender required. I left out the cayenne pepper because I didn't have any, I used a couple dashes of chili pepper instead. Even my fussy 16 month old baby liked it! I will be making this again! Thank you Genevia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheerios
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a cook who likes to eat a lot of vegetarian recipes for my main course meal this soup is a very good source of vegetable protein with red lentils that is so easy to make and rewards you with a very delicious bowl of soup with the lemon slices added for a garnish that gives the soup nice tang. The one change that I made was to add oat bran instead of bulgur that did not seem to make a big difference to the outcome of this soup. I would certainly recommend this soup to others who are looking for an easy soup to make that is very nutritious for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was invited to a Turkish themed dinner. This soup was good. I had never had any Turkish food before and this was a good first step. Good unique flavor. This soup was so thick it didn't even need a bowl, I wished I had some crusty bread to dip. I will pass this receipt on to my mother who is a vegan, it will be a good new addition to her menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jones Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made it just as the recipe said to and it was delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good and tastes close to the authentic soup. I used chicken broth and then used a blender at the end to make the texture smooth. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this soup only because I had some leftover dried mint I wanted to use up. This soup is AMAZING!! Very delicious, healthy, easy to make, and even my kids liked it! I have made it several more times, and it is always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States