Turkish Halwa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
for reviewers who said it didn't 'harden' - I don't think un helva/flour helva is supposed to harden. there are different kinds of helva. tahin helva is what you usually find in stores in the US - its made from sesame paste, not flour, and it's hard and crumbly. flour helva has a softish consistency when its made correctly, and its even better the second day. I've never seen Un helva made with molasses, and personally I would leave out the nuts - you could try substituting some milk (and sugar of course) for the molasses if you want to try making the standard version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This did not work for me!! Simple became soupy and lumpy like someone else said. Directions aren't quite right here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I halved the recipe, but I did need to use a touch of extra butter to get the flour to come together into a dough. I used one reviewer's suggestion of boiling the water and molasses for around 10 minutes to reduce it a bit and I really enjoyed these! Super easy to make and nothing like I've ever tasted before. I have to agree with the person who said they liked the fact that there is no refined sugar in these. I'll make these again, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I want to thank Asli for her contribution of Turkish dishes. My husband is originally from Istanbul and I wanted to surprise him with this recipe. I didn't have much luck with it (Sueb review could have been mine) and he told me that his mom used to make Halwa but not with Molasses. I'm going to try your other Turkish recipes that you've submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Nothing about this recipe was as I expected. When the flour is added to the butter, it formed crumbs! When adding the molasses, I had a soupy, lumpy mass. My wire whisk beat the dough somewhat smoother. After dropping the scoops onto the paper, they never hardened. This was like eating spoon fudge! On the plus side, I can say that this was sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe looked really weird at first, but then tasted really good! We added twice the amount of walnuts and rolled the Halwa in them. This is only if you like walnuts. Very easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
EDIT: The first time I made this it came out perfect, the second and third times I had the problems of other reviewers. Here are my tips: let the molasses/water boil for 10 minutes or so to reduce before mixing it in. Spread onto a baking sheet, and let cool. Cut into diamonds or other easy shapes when you're done. I thought this recipe was great. I didn't know what it was when I started making it, but it is a nice sweet. I like that it doesn't use refined sugar, only molases. And the texture is really interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Merhaba Aslicigim!! Cok super bir tarif. Tesekkur ederim!! ***Nuray***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Allah razi olsun :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erdem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States