Turkish Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Made it and it is a very old fashioned sweetie. We are too used to jell-o and cool whip to fall in love with the old sweeties again! So sad! Are there any other flavors? I can't have oranges very often. 5 stars for as close to the old way as we can get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I'm giving this recipe five stars for the fun and ease of the recipe, not necessarily because I think it's the yummiest thing! In fact, I don't like it at all! :) I made this for a "Narnia Party" and it was a huge hit to have some Turkish Delight. Only some of the kids liked it and none of the adults. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted walnuts for the pistachios. Like other reviewers, I too noticed that the mixture doesn't get "very thick", rather it gets more like the consistency of gravy. It sets up just fine though after several hours. Do make sure to put down a think layer of powdered sugar and generously coat each piece afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
If you want to try this in other flavors, check out "aplets", "cotlets" or other recipes for turkish delight. Aplets are delicious! I love the traditional recipe, but in the middle east other flavors (lemon, orange, lime, mango) are found also. Just experiment. Rose water is easy to find in any store that carries Indian foods or supplies. Walmart probably has it. Any halal or kosher store will, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Traditionally this is flavored with Rose Water, which is kind of hard to get in the States. Turkish Delight is very popular in Australia. I've always loved it, but it is definitely a acquired taste. If you can get the rose water, try that instead of the citrus flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this for my son's birthday treat to take to class. He loves it and so does my husband, but it was SO much work and it never did get thick while in the pot. I finally just set it out to cool and hoped that it would set overnight. It did - it was kinda fun cutting it up because my son and I thought that the texture was like sticky bulistics gell :) I probably won't make it again anytime soon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i have been searching for a decent recipe for this and was pleased to find this one. While it tastes yummy, it is sticky as all get out and this a it of a pain to get out of the pan....next time i make it i think i will maybe grease the pan a bit before hand and see how that works. Its light and sweet with out being too overpowering. I would also recommend using the nuts. i did it without and its just not the same. i am going to find a recipe now on how to make rosewater. also when you add the cornstarch it doesnt get super thick but thicker....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missbelair1955

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Well the recipe was good and it tasted okay, but I don't think I really care for Turkish Delight. It's mostly my own fault because I had this idea in my head that it was the most delicious food, but that's because I've read and loved the Chronicles of Narnia books. Edmund always made it sound like the best thing ever. It was pretty complicated and I couldn't get it to thicken after I added the cornstarch. I probably won't ever make it again, but it was really fun and I'm glad I finally found a recipe so we could try it. Thanks for the recipe. My husband really liked it, I thought it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is really good and easy! One note: after adding the cornstarch, it never did get "very thick". It got thicker than it previously had been, but not anything close to what I'd call very thick. I thought I'd done something wrong and ruined it, but it set up just fine and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is alright; I am not a dedicated fan of Turkish delight but this was better than shop-bought Turkish delight, though not as good as REAL Middle-Eastern Turkish delight. (obviously!) I'm a little surprised about other reviewers wanting to change the colour; it is meant to be pale, though also meant, as others have mentioned, to be flavoured with rosewater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
It was good, I would use all orange juice next time instead of the 1 1/2 cups of water to make it taste more "orangey". I didn't add nuts at all since I was making it for my son's third grade class. He and his little sister liked it. It set up fine even though it never thickened up much after adding the cornstarch. Fun to make for the Narnia crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States