Turkish Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I had to throw away the pan that I made this candy in - the recipe is ALL WRONG. After having this experience, I did some further research and found out that 1) you should oil your pan before putting the candy in 2) it should sit overnight in a refrigerator and 3) the author of this recipe neglects to mention that you have to simmer the sugar water mixture for one hour. If I had known this ahead of time, I would have prepared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is really good and easy! One note: after adding the cornstarch, it never did get "very thick". It got thicker than it previously had been, but not anything close to what I'd call very thick. I thought I'd done something wrong and ruined it, but it set up just fine and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Traditionally this is flavored with Rose Water, which is kind of hard to get in the States. Turkish Delight is very popular in Australia. I've always loved it, but it is definitely a acquired taste. If you can get the rose water, try that instead of the citrus flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my daughter's 4th grade class, as they are having a book-club discussion on "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe"--so this was the perfect opportunity to try making Turkish Delight. It is an interesting recipe--with 3/4 c cornstarch plus gelatin plus sugar water boiled to 240, the likelihood that this will at least "gel" is pretty good, which was reassuring to me. The texture was somewhere between jello-squares and gum-drops, very sticky stuff (when it says to be generous with the powdered sugar--be generous)! The color was a pale orange; if I made it again, I would add orange food coloring. The taste was orange-y, and not bad, but odd to me. Maybe I'm jaded by chocolate fudge and candies like divinity, but the sweet, sugary flavor I expected was not as pure--either the flavor of the cornstarch tainted it, or the orange flavor wasn't strong enough. If I made it again, I would either add more OJ or add orange extract. I did use fresh orange zest--which made for an interesting, sort of chunky texture--and maybe dried zest would have given more flavor per Tbsp. Unless I have a specific reason--like a CS Lewis book club--I don't think I'll be making this again. It was pretty time consuming, and the results were a bit disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I'm giving this recipe five stars for the fun and ease of the recipe, not necessarily because I think it's the yummiest thing! In fact, I don't like it at all! :) I made this for a "Narnia Party" and it was a huge hit to have some Turkish Delight. Only some of the kids liked it and none of the adults. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted walnuts for the pistachios. Like other reviewers, I too noticed that the mixture doesn't get "very thick", rather it gets more like the consistency of gravy. It sets up just fine though after several hours. Do make sure to put down a think layer of powdered sugar and generously coat each piece afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Made it and it is a very old fashioned sweetie. We are too used to jell-o and cool whip to fall in love with the old sweeties again! So sad! Are there any other flavors? I can't have oranges very often. 5 stars for as close to the old way as we can get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this for my son's birthday treat to take to class. He loves it and so does my husband, but it was SO much work and it never did get thick while in the pot. I finally just set it out to cool and hoped that it would set overnight. It did - it was kinda fun cutting it up because my son and I thought that the texture was like sticky bulistics gell :) I probably won't make it again anytime soon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This recipe is a disaster. I've tried MANY different recipes, and some came out better than others, but this was one of the worst. First of all, it tastes like jell-o. That is not the traditional taste, neither is the orange flavor. The proportions are wrong, and the directions are extremely unclear. True Turkish Delight takes about two hours to cook, and then another night to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilanalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is alright; I am not a dedicated fan of Turkish delight but this was better than shop-bought Turkish delight, though not as good as REAL Middle-Eastern Turkish delight. (obviously!) I'm a little surprised about other reviewers wanting to change the colour; it is meant to be pale, though also meant, as others have mentioned, to be flavoured with rosewater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i have been searching for a decent recipe for this and was pleased to find this one. While it tastes yummy, it is sticky as all get out and this a it of a pain to get out of the pan....next time i make it i think i will maybe grease the pan a bit before hand and see how that works. Its light and sweet with out being too overpowering. I would also recommend using the nuts. i did it without and its just not the same. i am going to find a recipe now on how to make rosewater. also when you add the cornstarch it doesnt get super thick but thicker....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missbelair1955

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States