Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Best Turkey ever. I brined the turkey overnight, and used the brine for basting up until about halfway through (didn't want the meat to be too salty). Then I switched to beer, continuing to baste every hour. I used a turkey stand, so the bird would cook upright. I smoked for about 8 hours usingn applewood, then for the last 2 hours, I put the turkey breast side down in a pan. I cooked it until it was 165 degrees in the breast, then let it rest for 15 minutes. My only regret was that I did not tie the wings to the body, and the smoke passing over the wings made that mead slightly overdone. But still better than roasting. I was surprised that the skin was brown and crispy - my 13 year old raved about the white meat and we all went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Voyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was our first time using our smoker for a turkey. The turkey was fantastic! We cooked for 2 thanksgivings and each time the bird was delicious, fell off the bone and had the smoke taste throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skallay
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Followed everything as noted in instructions. I used a 10lb turkey breast instead and it only needed 7 hours at 250 degrees. I ran out of apple wood chips and decided to use grape vines. This worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome!!! Cant wait till tomorrow to share the finish product!!! I also used apple wood sooo tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was the first recipe I used after buying my electric oster smoker. It is great! I don't brine and it comes out fine. I have used this recipe three times. It NEVER takes 10 hours. Every smoker is different, but for a 12-14 lb turkey.. I figure 20--30 minutes per pound, with the temp set at 250. I like electric bcz you can control the temp and all you have to is plug it in and turn a dial. No charcoal mess.. And of course, I use a meat thermometer to tell me when it's done Happy thanksgiving I love that my oven is free to bake pies and stuffing, while the turkey is out in the smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have made this several times and will definitely be making it many more. It is terrific! I find one can of cola is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have been using this recipe for over 10 years, it is still one of the favorites at our cookouts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas eve. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wow! I wish I had this recipe years ago. It is delicious. I don't generally don't care for white meat but this white meat was flaverful. The onion and apple seeped through the cavity and gave them added pizazz. I have an LP smoker and 10 hours was way too long for my 13 pounder. Between 5 and 6 hours was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have a Brinkman smoker with a fire box. My bird was absolutely perfect! I did not change any thing. I have learned not to read comments that are more than a few lines. This usually indicates a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States