Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I sing praises here. I used applewood instead of hickory. And I used an LP water smoker instead of charcoal. Much easier and quicker (5 hours instead of 10 for a 12 lb free-range turkey). I knew I had a winner on my hands with the YELPS of joy from people who tasted the first slices of the bird. INTENSE smoky flavor (the applewood was a good choice). And the Pepsi-Cola and butter and apple and onion and garlic inside hit the spot giving it incredible sweetness. I brined this turkey first using a brine recipe I got on this site (with salt and brown sugar and rosemary (which I added)). This was one of the best turkeys I've ever prepared. The skin was very dark with smoke, with when you pricked it, it snapped. Inside the turkey was surprisingly moist. A definite hit. Almost sinister and alien it was so intensely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is the best smoked turkey I have ever fixed. I used an electric smoker and it took about 10 hours for a 14 lb. turker. I also used the brine with the kosher salt and brown sugar. Thank you for bringing this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Excellent recipe. This really does blow your guests away. I have made this several times and I have a few tips. Fyi- I use a electric brinkmann smoker. Don't use a brine if your turkey is injected with a soulution (butterball). 10 to 14 lbs is best. It will definitely take a mininum 10 hours (at 220-230 degrees). 1 can of cola or a 16oz bottle is plenty. I like a hickory/pecan wood mix (pecan is smoother). Don't smoke after the bird reaches 140degrees. degrees.I only baste every 3-4 hours when I check the wood.I also like to rub the bird with rosemary. Enjoy..It's the best turkey you will ever have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was my first attempt at smoking a turkey. We had relatives over for Christmas dinner so I smoked this turkey recipe (13 pound bird) and baby back ribs at the same time. Wow! What a great combination. I have had my share of smoked turkey prior to this one but have decided there is no need to go looking for a better recipe. This was the best smoked turkey I have ever had and it had rave reviews from out dinner guests. My daughter-in-law said the turkey defines the word "succulent". She said, "you just want to sit there and suck all the juices out".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was awesome! I used a brining recipe from here. Let the turkey set in the brine over night. Followed this recipe as well as injecting the bird with a marinade and then covering the top with Tony's Cajun seasoning. I slow cooked a 10lb bird for 10 hours. I kept the heat at around 220 most of the time. Hickory used to smoke. It was most excellent. Best turkey I ever ate. My family demolished it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
We smoked a 28lb turkey for the company Thanksgiving party using this recipe last year. There were 5 other traditional turkeys at this party but ours was the only one completely gobbled up. One minor ajustment we made to the recipe was to add 1C apple cider vinegar to the brine reciped we found on this site. To complete the brining process we stuffed the turkey into a roasting bag (it was a tight squeeze)poured the brine into the bag and set the turkey in a rosting pan rotating the turkey every hr or so overnight. We chose to use applewood and cherry chips in our grill (we didn't have a smoker). Don't forget to smoke the turkey in a roasting pan and keep injecting the drippings back into the turkey.Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
AWESOME FLAVOR BUT WATCH THE TIME JUST BECAUSE THE BIRD WEIGHS MORE DON'T LEAVE IT IN LONGER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe. Turkey was a big hit with guests on Thanksgiving. The turkey did take about 11 hours on our electric smoker - we had a 14 pounder. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
WORTH THE TIME! Plan on a day relaxing in your favorite lawn chair getting up once every hour only to throw on some more woodchips and getting another beer. Although this recipe takes 10+ hours its a sinch and worth every moment. The only alteration I made is soaking the turkey in salt water a couple of hours before smoking (1 1/2 to 2 cups Kosher salt desolved in enough water to cover the turkey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe is awsome, I first tried it three yrs ago at my familys thanks giving and i think i might have pissed off my mom abit becouse when all was said an done there was half of my moms oven bird left an none of mine. I kept the recipe the same for the last 2 yrs and this year i was set in charge of the big bird. im smoking a 23lbs bird and am way excited. me and my whole family thank you for this awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States