Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I did this recipe for thanksgiving and it was the probably the best smoked turkey I have ever eaten. thank you to the people that came up with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
WORTH THE TIME! Plan on a day relaxing in your favorite lawn chair getting up once every hour only to throw on some more woodchips and getting another beer. Although this recipe takes 10+ hours its a sinch and worth every moment. The only alteration I made is soaking the turkey in salt water a couple of hours before smoking (1 1/2 to 2 cups Kosher salt desolved in enough water to cover the turkey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was a wonderful tasting smoked turkey.. I used a 12# turkey, soaked it in a brine solution of 1 1/2 cups salted water using kosher salt, added some herbs also to the solution soaking it for 6 hrs completely covered with iced water... I did everything the recipe called for but the next time I make this turkey I will only put one can of cola inside this size turkey... there was to much liquid in my pan and I had to remove some of it while the turkey smoked... also it took my 12 pounder 11 hrs in my electric smoker to cook.. it was very moist and flavorful... everyone said it was the best smoked turkey they ever ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I sing praises here. I used applewood instead of hickory. And I used an LP water smoker instead of charcoal. Much easier and quicker (5 hours instead of 10 for a 12 lb free-range turkey). I knew I had a winner on my hands with the YELPS of joy from people who tasted the first slices of the bird. INTENSE smoky flavor (the applewood was a good choice). And the Pepsi-Cola and butter and apple and onion and garlic inside hit the spot giving it incredible sweetness. I brined this turkey first using a brine recipe I got on this site (with salt and brown sugar and rosemary (which I added)). This was one of the best turkeys I've ever prepared. The skin was very dark with smoke, with when you pricked it, it snapped. Inside the turkey was surprisingly moist. A definite hit. Almost sinister and alien it was so intensely flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Some guests totally enjoyed this, but definately preferred the fried turkey we make. The fried turkey was favored for both flavor and moistness. It's always fun to try new things in our smoker though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was skeptical at first and preparing Thanksgiving dinner for my in-laws made me very cautious. Not to worry this is a GREAT recipe. The flavor, the ease, the aroma in my neighborhood. I made 2 birds. This one and a classic roasted one. Needless to say there was a lot of the roasted one left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is the best smoked turkey I have ever fixed. I used an electric smoker and it took about 10 hours for a 14 lb. turker. I also used the brine with the kosher salt and brown sugar. Thank you for bringing this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This turkey is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I am not real big on smoked meat, and turkey is not my favorite, but, I have to say, the recipe for this smoked turkey was absolutely DELICIOUS! We have a huge grill/smoker combo and cooking time was only about 5 hours. The turkey was tender, moist and flavorful. We really enjoyed the results of this recipe and can't wait to use it again for friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is without a doubt the best smoked turkey I've ever had. The things I did different was to cook the turkey in indirect heat at 325-350 degrees using hickory chunks. My turkey was 18 lbs. and took just over 6 hrs. The different flavors you tast are unbelievable. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States