Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
If you do this once you will do it again. It's Turkey at it's very best. Haven't fed this to anyone who didn't rave. So juicy cranbery sause is not missed Only con I found is if you frezz any left overs (and i'll bet there wont be much) the smoked flavor excesivly dominates. Funny only frezzing does this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I find that when smoking a turkey the meat is stringy, so I roast it first so the bones are not bloody, and still do the brining before but cooking time is less, and do not have the stringyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used the worlds best turkey brine for about 24 hours. Followed recipe exactly only difference was I didnt cook to 180 pulled mine at 165. Was a 14 pound bird and it only took me six and half hours on my traeger at the 250 temp setting very good did two birds not much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claflin, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
13.5 pound turkey 8 hours on gas smoker. it was fabulous......made it for the 4th. took a long unsliced loaf of bread., cut it lengthwise......toasted it...( with garlic butter painted on)in oven., added turkey slices taken off the bones....plus some really nice swiss cheese.....back to oven. sliced it into sandwiches..........and made a horseradish sauce, plus a balsamic vinegar bbq sauce to dress...........it was a huge hit! since it was the 4th,. needed something "picnic" style. not thanksgiving style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Unbelievable! Made mine in a green egg type smoker. Best turkey I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipes is simple and delicious. I have a cheaper smoker without a temperature gauge or control, so I chose to cook in the oven for the first half and then smoke. It is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband and I used this recipe for our first-ever attempt at a turkey, for Christmas dinner. It turned out very moist, and my husband said he thought it was better than any turkey his mom had ever made! My parents raised their eyebrows when I poured in the cola, but it turned out perfect. However, we added a lot of sage, like a sausage-seasoning rub. We also cooked it over indirect heat (about 300-350 degrees), covered loosely with foil, on our gas grill, and it took about 4 hours. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Ok i'm a novice. I tried my own smoked turkey this Thanksgiving for the first time and have vowed never to bake or fry a turkey ever again! This is by far the best way to have turkey. My family loved it. I let the 12 lb turkey sit in brine 8-10 hrs in the refrigerator overnight. Then in the morning, I set up my charbroil grill/smoker for low indirect heat. Then I rinsed the turkey and added garlic, pepper, and cajun seasoning, also butter under the breast. I used soaked hickory chips and a can of chicken broth as my liquid under the turkey. I let it cook until the charcoal and chips burned out completely-my first time, I didn't know I could add more charcoal and wood chips as needed. I wanted to make sure it was done, so I put it in the oven for about an hour covered with foil. OMG! Best turkey I ever had! Best flavor! I also smoked a whole turkey breast for christmas. Not a dry spot on either turkey. Very moist and juicy. The one reviewer who was concerned about the pinkish color might want to try a meat thermometer. Or simply bake covered for a hour. Some smokers and charcoals burn differently so it may take more or less time depending on size of turkey, type of charcoal and wood chips. But it's well worth a try. You will not be disappointed by the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this last night for Christmas Eve. The only changes I made were to use apple wood chips and minced garlic instead of powder for the cavity. My husband never gives 5 stars, but he and the son-in-laws gave it 5 stars. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States