Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Best Turkey ever! Followed directions except I used apple wood chips. Very moist. I have done this twice in the past month the second time i did it i used a turkey with a pop up timer and it was done in 5 hours @ just under 250 temp, it was a 15 pound turkey cooked on a lp smoker. You will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I followed this exactly as written on my Taeger Smoker using Mesquie and used a 10 lb free range chicken. Very Very good, I have smoked many birds and this was one of the best. The spices were just right and the gravy from the drippings was awsome. Usually the garvy is quite smokey, but this was very nice due to the loose foil the dripping piced up less smoke. I will do this again with a turkey at xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Map

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is very close to the recipe I use except I don't use cola and I DO use Penzey's spices (Bicentennial rub, toasted onion powder and Pork chop seasoning.) I do put cut up apples, onions and lots of garlic in the cavity. I've smoked turkeys every year for the holidays and always get nice juicy birds and rave reviews. I do not baste it as opening the door lets all the heat out. Several hours into it, I put a ham on the rack above so the ham juices drip down over the turkey; really good! Just make sure the water pan does not run out; that will dry out the turkey. When it's done, I take the pan drippings and reduce them, add that to my gravy stock and then a roux and get a nice smoky gravy. I'm drooling just thinking of it. And the clean-up is SO nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I love this recipe. It's now a Thanksgiving tradition to smoke a turkey with this recipe. The meat comes out juicy and flavorful. The best thing about it is it's simplicity. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We will be using this recipe every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
great recipe i used apple sauce instead of a apple it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very proud of myself....1st time smoking anything and used this recipe. Only change I made was to use a 6lb Turkey Breast instead of a whole Turkey and I did Brine the bird....Since this was my first time I did slightly over cook it but it was still really really good. The pink part of the breast that was closest to the skin was absolutely delicious! Cooked 7 hours and 1 side of the breast was at 175 degrees and when I checked the other side it was just over 180.....About an hour less would have been the sweet spot. Thank you for putting this recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I make this every year now for my family, this is the best!!!! I soak turkey overnight in apple juice and I use Pecan wood to smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I did not baste the turkey as once I close the lid on the smoker I don't take it off until the calculated time of 45 minutes per pound has elapsed. I was skeptical about loosely covering the turkey with aluminum foil but did it anyway. My turkey came out perfect. I had rave reviews and will be using this exact recipe for every turkey I smoke. This mixture of ingredients creates a slightly sweet and incredibly moist turkey. In fact, it's down right addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Incredible! I also brined the turkey before smoking it, and it took about 8 hours for a 14 pound turkey. It was moist and delicious. Everyone raved. Used apple wood. I'll do this again for sure. Even better than deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States