Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by thomas77
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I just made it this year. First time I made turkey. It turned out very good! We had two turkey's. I got lot's of compliments from the other turkey maker. He couldn't keep his hands off of it and kept picking at it before it was served. The ingredient make a very good "sauce" which I drizzled over the top of it after I had cut it up, just keep it moist. One thing to be sure of is to definitely baste every 1 hour or so. Also, I used a brown sugar, kosher salt, vegetable stock brine, and brined it overnight. And doing this seemed to actually help the turkey cook much more easily and very quickly. Which turned out perfect as my smoker was having a problem getting higher than 200° as it was very cold outside. Started smoking it at around 6:15 a.m., it was done around 1:30 - 2:00 p.m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is the most amazing smoked turkey we have ever had!!! I followed the recipe exactly. Took another reviewers idea and reduced the sauce. OMG! If possible, this made it even better. This will now be a staple on our Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was an excellent recipe for smoked turkey. The flavors blended together nicely. We smoked it with a apple juice/water mixture. We used a granny smith apple in the cavity with the other ingredients. Very little leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I bought the smallest Traeger smoker 2 months ago so I experimented tonite with this recipe. I had a horrible experience 3 yrs ago w/ a $30 fresh turkey, brine and roast recipe, so I wanted to give my Traeger a try w/ a $5 Safeway turkey (13 lbs). HOMERUN, awesome turkey...for $5. The $2.50 foil pan I bought fit perfectly. I followed 95% of recipe; thawed the tukey in the fridge, rinsed, & patted dry...rubbed w/ olive oil, minced garlic & poultry seasoning on the outside. I placed the turkey in the pan & added 2 T of butter, the onion, apple, minced garlic, and about 4 c of diet coke in the cavity. I loosely sealed the edges of pan w/ heavy foil. I turned on smoke for 5 minutes with the lid open to get it started, & then closed the lid & heated on high for 10 minutes. The temp at that time was about 300 degrees. I placed the pan on the grill & closed the lid...and kept the smoker on high for 15 minutes. I then turned to medium and continued to go outside to admire the great aroma.. The temp remained around 225 when on medium. Short on time, I alternated between high and medium heat (the temp alternated between 225-300 degrees). At 2 hrs, I basted the turkey w/ butter...it was browning beautifully. I recovered & continued cooking for a total of 4 hrs; unbelieveably moist, fall off the bone, turkey. Can't wait to try again...I will cook on low next time for duration, and skip the basting... Truly the most moist(est) turkey I have every prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Best Turkey ever! Followed directions except I used apple wood chips. Very moist. I have done this twice in the past month the second time i did it i used a turkey with a pop up timer and it was done in 5 hours @ just under 250 temp, it was a 15 pound turkey cooked on a lp smoker. You will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I followed this exactly as written on my Taeger Smoker using Mesquie and used a 10 lb free range chicken. Very Very good, I have smoked many birds and this was one of the best. The spices were just right and the gravy from the drippings was awsome. Usually the garvy is quite smokey, but this was very nice due to the loose foil the dripping piced up less smoke. I will do this again with a turkey at xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Map

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is very close to the recipe I use except I don't use cola and I DO use Penzey's spices (Bicentennial rub, toasted onion powder and Pork chop seasoning.) I do put cut up apples, onions and lots of garlic in the cavity. I've smoked turkeys every year for the holidays and always get nice juicy birds and rave reviews. I do not baste it as opening the door lets all the heat out. Several hours into it, I put a ham on the rack above so the ham juices drip down over the turkey; really good! Just make sure the water pan does not run out; that will dry out the turkey. When it's done, I take the pan drippings and reduce them, add that to my gravy stock and then a roux and get a nice smoky gravy. I'm drooling just thinking of it. And the clean-up is SO nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I love this recipe. It's now a Thanksgiving tradition to smoke a turkey with this recipe. The meat comes out juicy and flavorful. The best thing about it is it's simplicity. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We will be using this recipe every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
great recipe i used apple sauce instead of a apple it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States