Turkey in a Smoker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Used Out of the World Turkey Brine for a day and a half. Smoked a 14# fresh bird in a Trager Pellet grill at 250 for 10 hours. Started basting after 2 hours and continued basting every hour until done. Great smokey taste, juicy and flavorful. Used Applewood for smoking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crushed Tomatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is our go to turkey recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The meat had no flavor at all. Don't make this unless you brine it first. My guess is brining would have made all the difference. Yeah, the meat fell off the bone because it was basically boiled in Coca-cola. And I put a lot of seasoned salt on there and was worried it was going to be too salty. Couldn't taste any of it. I think the cola absorbed all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I always make two turkey each Thanksgiving: one that always comes out perfect (I will share the recipe some time later) and one experimental and we vote. Well this one is equally great and now I am stuck with 2 that my family wants. How do I fit a new experiment into the mix? More guests?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Holy Cow! This turkey was so moist and tasty! This will not be the last time I make a turkey this way, it was sooooo good! Followed recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My youngest daughter doesn't really care for turkey, until we cooked it using this recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This will be my third time making this bird this way! My children said the first time i made it..."Oh, is this what turkey should taste like?" its the bomb! I used 1 can of soda and 1 cup of apple cider....I also put apple cider in the smoker water...Crazy good people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wszetela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have cooked this bird 3 years in a row and love it! Wife and kids beg for me to make turkey noodle soup with the left overs.I stick to the recipe but only cook it to 165f. previous years I used charcoal smoker this year I upgraded to LP smoker.MMM Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is the best smoked turkey I've made yet! I used a 12.5 lb Butterball that I brined overnight in my turkey fryer pot. Used water,Better than Bouillion, kosher salt, jalepeno honey, regular honey, Penzeys Florida pepper and fresh garlic. I injected with Habanero infused real maple syrup about half an hour before smoking and put onion, a granny smith and 2 cloves fresh garlic in the cavity with some Pepsi. I forgot to pickup a foil roaster so I used my ceramic chicken roaster and cooked bird breast side up with a bit of Pepsi in the bottom. I rubbed my bird with EVOO and St. Amand's Cajun BBQ Rub and some Weber Beer Can Chicken seasoning. I have an electric Masterbuilt I smoked over apple and hickory for about 5-1/2 hours. I brought it in and basted with Bourbon Maple Syrup and put in oven at 325 for about 20 min to make glaze adhere. Very flavorful and juicy. I actually found the recipe about an hour into the smoking process and had already stuffed the cavity but just didn't have the cola so that didn't go in until about 2 hours into cooking but still turned out wonderful! Thanks for the great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I just used this recipe today to make my Thanksgiving turkey. It turned out awesome! I smoked in on my Traeger for 5 hours at 250 degrees and then at 325 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours until it reached an internal temperature of about 170 degrees. I used 2 cans of Pepsi and I used the Traeger Pork and Poultry Seasoning instead of seasoning salt. I used 2 garlic cloves cut up instead of the garlic powder. I basted the turkey every hour and I let it sit for about 20 minutes wrapped in tinfoil before we sliced it. It was soooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States