Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Not too bad. I think my whole family agreed that it had too much of an onion flavor and the turkey still came out a little dry. I may try this again with a lemon cut up to try to make the meat more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My first time using a cooking bag for a turkey, or anything for that matter. After reading the reviews I too rubbed the bird inside and out with butter. Sage and onion in the cavity and garlic, paprika and our favorite Cajun spice blend, Konriko, were sprinkled on the outside. You don't even have to truss the wings or legs, just pop it in the bag! My only concern with this recipe is that the cooking time seems WAY off. We checked our 15 pound bird at the 2 & 1/2 hour mark and it was already 190 degrees!!! But man was it moist and delicious!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
It was the first time I used a bag. The result as far as taste was fabulous, extremely juicy but, and a big but, the skin came off as I was took the turkey out of the bag!!!! I had to carve it and present it all sliced up in a platter, no beautiful bird on the table! Also 3 hours was enough for a 16lb turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Only way to make a Turkey! I have roasted it and it is much moister with this method. No need to change a thing and it will be great. For fun, I stuffed with fresh thyme, tarragon, garlic and celery and seasoned with garlic powder. I added one cup of chicken broth into the bag to make more gravy. But, this was for a twist. The recipe is delicious as written. Also, the turkey does brown with this method. If you want it browner, cut bag open last 20 min of cooking, but it was brown enough for us. Let turkey rest and hour before carving and remember to carve the chicken breast against the grain. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PotzNPanz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it today -- totally AWESOME. Just what I was looking for: Tender turkey that comes out like a supermarket deli chicken, soft, tasty, and juicy. I ate the wings before I was even done carving, and it was Turkey Heaven! I made a 23-pound bad boy, and thank goodness I listened and put the half dozen 1/2-inch slits on the TOP of the bag, not on the sides or near the bottom at ALL, because a turkey on the big side like this one made SO MUCH JUICE/BROTH that it came up almost HALF WAY up the side of the turkey. On the loweset rack at 350 (like the Reynolds bag said), the liquid was literally bubbling and rolling. Also, I put the whole thing in the bag UPSIDE DOWN, to make sure the breasts were basting in the juices. They were SO SOFT. I followed the Reynolds bag directions, not the turkey wrapper directions, and they were spot on in that a 24 pounder took exactly 3 hours. I never thought it would be THAT fast, thought maybe 4-5, but Reynolds was right. It made so much broth you would have an abundance of gravy for every meal or sandwich you can make out of it, or do like I did and save big chunks of meat in freezer bags with the broth for a delicious turkey soup with carrots and egg noodles, etc. Still had 2 big chunks left for 2 Jennie-O size boneless size roasts, and two tupperwares full of two full meals a-la Thanksgiving style (with the leftover sides and trimmings). Used 2 red onions, 4 celery ribs, salt/pepper/sage/2 Tbls butter rub. IT'S A KEEPER! (see pic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the only recipe I ever use for Turkey - it's simply AWESOME! The turkey comes out perfectly, every time - never fails. Nice and moist, very juicy and flavorful, the turkey cooks in its own juices and yet the skin is perfectly browned and crinkly on the outside. It's the bomb! This year I had a 19-pounder, I did a dry rub on the bird before going into the bag, using fresh rosemary sprigs cut from our plant, and using the sprigs to rub in garlic, Lawry's Seasoned Pepper, and Costco's Italian Seasonings, as well as some Herbs de Provence. It was so flavorful and absolutely delicious! My wife's Italian family loved it! Came out in 3 hrs 15 mins. USE THIS RECIPE - IT NEVER FAILS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Wow, this was simple and taste great. I'm not the best of cooks and the family was worried that I was making the turkey, but it was a hit. It was moist and looked great. My first turkey was a success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I use a paper grocery bag! Smear the inside of the paper bag completely with butter. Put your favorite items in the cavity ( apple, onion, rosemary)of the bird. If cooking a large turkey extend the height of the bag by stapling the top of another bag to it. Put your turkey in the bag, fold over the opening and staple closed and bake as normal in a roasting pan. No basting, no fuss. You have the most perfectly browned, juicy turkey with crispy skin. I have tried cooking my turkeys other ways but nothing beats this technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Hunsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenora
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I decided to use this AllRecipes version today. It took approximately 3 hrs 20 mins for the temp to reach 180 degrees. Through the turkey bag, it turned out with a beautiful color. I will find out about flavor and level of moisture after I allow it to sit for about 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
If I'm not deep-frying my turkey, I'm making it exactly like this: in a bag. Amazing flavor and moist meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States