Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I rubbed the turkey down with butter, sprinkled with paprika, put the apple, sage and rosemary on the inside, and the celery and onion in the bag, and was WONDERFUL!!! I don't even like dark meat, but the flavor was so great, I ate it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
808 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I have used this recipe for years. It is so easy, cleanup is a breeze, the Turkey stays very moist, and you can cook it longer,and not dry it out. I have made it stuffed, and without stuffing. great both ways. my family just loves it, and I usually get invited to cook the bird, even if we are the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
My mom has made turkey this way for years and now I do too. We put garlic powder, onion powder and paprika on the skin the day before. It never dries out and it can be left in longer if you need some more prep time for your other dishes. Cleanup is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
this is a fool proof recipe; you don't think it will brown in a bag, but it does and its always moist and delish. I make it this way every year and its always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
With this recipe, I got the most juicy, yummy turkey I have ever tried in my life. The cooking time was short, a 20 pound turkey in 3 and a half hours, and the clean up was easy. I definately recommend this recipe to first timers and also anybody else who wants to have a tender, juicy turkey meat. I will only use this recipe for my turkey from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
My 18 pound turkey was done to moist perfection in just over 3 hours. I was surprised that the skin actually browned pretty nicely. The only change I made to the recipe was to spread the turkey breast skin with about 2 tablespoons of butter before putting it into the oven bag. I had a LOT of fat to skim off the juices before making my gravy, so I'm not sure how good an idea it was, or if it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I have tried this recipe and it really works!! Another thing I added was a half apple with thyme & rosemary tied onto it and stuffed into the cavity, instead of the stuffing. It made the turkey extremely succulent. And so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I'll never cook a turkey any other way!! This was the 1st year I used a bag an it was super easy. Just put it in the bag and forget about it until it's time to come out!! If you sprinkle paprika over the turkey, it helps to even the browning. I'd recommend this to anyone, novice or pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
i have made this turkey for two years going on three this year. the turkey comes out really moist and good. it has become a turkey tradition in our home.thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
THANK YOU!!! all i hadd was a turkey, a leftover bag, and 8 people coming in 5 hours......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States