Turkey in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was amazing! Cooked a 20 lb bird for 3 1/2 hours - temp got to 190. We stuffed the cavity with sliced apples and onions, in addition to adding onions and celery to the floured Reynolds bag. We rubbed the bird with softened butter, and seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I don't if this helped, but I accidently cooked the bird breast-side down, and the breast was nicely browned, CRISPY SKIN, and as juicy as I've ever eaten. My mom is the best cook I know, and this blew away anything she's ever made for Thanksgiving! Without question, this was the best turkey I've ever had (including deep-fried), and I will never do turkey any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yum! Made this and everyone LOVED it! Moist and Juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
At 38, this is the first time I have actually been able to cook a full Thanksgiving meal for my family. This turkey came out perfect !!!!! Thank you !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensasweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Did the Turkey in a Bag, it was delicious, I'm so glad I took the time to read all the reviews. Will definetly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITASOSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I tried this method for the first time this Thanksgiving. The turkey was absolutely perfect, and even the professed "non-turkey-lovers" were impressed and had second helpings. We'll use the oven bags every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wow, I'll never go back to traditional roasting. The turkey I used was from last season and I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I just happened to have one cooking bag so decided to give it a try. The turkey was brown ( I did use some paprika) and as one reviewer said even the dark meat was good and I don't usually prefer it. The clean-up was a breeze and the gravy was unbeatable. I didn't think it would be done in 3 hours so I cooked it longer but 3 hrs. would have been sufficient. But even w/ cooking iit longer it still was moist and wonderful. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
After I brined my turkey, i used this recipe! I did put an apple inside along with celery, onion, salt and pepper. SO MOIST and TENDER...yummy TO BRINE: rinse turkey and sprinkle Kosher salt inside and out of turkey, in a large stock pot dissolve about 1/4 cup salt and 1/4 sugar (i eyeball it) in about 2cups water, then place the turkey in pot and fill up pot with water, try to cover turkey with water, place in refridgerater for 12-24 hrs. Then rinse turkey and pat dry and then proceed with this recipe****You will NOT be dissapointed*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Perfect.Just made my first turkey ever and this was easy and juicy. I added an apple sliced in half,garlic and lemon in the cavity and coated with sage,rosemary and thyme.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I just made this today and what a huge success!! This is the first time in 17 years my turkey was perfect!! I did stuff with carrots, celery, onion and apples with poultry seasoning. My whole family raved over it!! Perfection, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
really easy. This was very good. I must say, you really need to add paprika for the coloring. It adds so much color, which it really needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States